Skip to Content

DOE/NSF Nuclear Science Advisory Committee


Notice Of Open Meeting.


This notice announces a meeting of the DOE/NSF Nuclear Science Advisory Committee (NSAC). The Federal Advisory Committee Act (92, 86 Stat. 770) requires that public notice of these meetings be announced in the Federal Register.


Table of Contents Back to Top

DATES: Back to Top

Friday, March 9, 2012, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.

ADDRESSES: Back to Top

Marriott Bethesda North Hotel & Conference Center, 5701 Marinelli Road, North Bethesda, Maryland 20852, (301) 822-9200.


Brenda L. May, U.S. Department of Energy; SC-26/Germantown Building, 1000 Independence Avenue SW., Washington, DC 20585-1290; Telephone: (301) 903-0536


Purpose of Meeting: To provide advice and guidance to the Department of Energy and the National Science Foundation on scientific priorities within the field of basic nuclear science research.

Tentative Agenda: Agenda will include discussions of the following:

Friday, March 9, 2012 Back to Top

  • Perspectives from Department of Energy and National Science Foundation
  • Update from the Department of Energy and National Science Foundation's Nuclear Physics Office's
  • Presentation of Plans for a Charge for Nuclear Science Community Planning
  • Report on the Fundamental Physics at the Intensity Frontier Workshop
  • Status on the Creation of a Strategic Plan on Accelerator Science
  • Report on National Ignition Facility Workshop
  • Public Comment (10-minute rule)

Public Participation: The meeting is open to the public. If you would like to file a written statement with the Committee, you may do so either before or after the meeting. If you would like to make oral statements regarding any of these items on the agenda, you should contact Brenda L. May, (301) 903-0536 or by email at: You must make your request for an oral statement at least 5 business days before the meeting. Reasonable provision will be made to include the scheduled oral statements on the agenda. The Chairperson of the Committee will conduct the meeting to facilitate the orderly conduct of business. Public comment will follow the 10-minute rule.

Minutes: The minutes of the meeting will be available on the Nuclear Science Advisory Committee Web site at:

Issued at Washington, DC, on February 10, 2012.

LaTanya Butler,

Acting Deputy Committee Management Officer.

[FR Doc. 2012-3652 Filed 2-15-12; 8:45 am]


Site Feedback