Skip to Content


List of Communities Eligible for the Sale of Flood Insurance

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).


Final rule.


This rule identifies communities participating in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). These communities have applied to the program and have agreed to enact certain floodplain management measures. The communities' participation in the program authorizes the sale of flood insurance to owners of property located in the communities listed.


The dates listed in the third column of the table.


Flood insurance policies for property located in the communities listed can be obtained from any licensed property insurance agent or broker serving the eligible community, or from the NFIP at: Post Office Box 6464, Rockville, MD 20849, (800) 638-6620.

Start Further Info


Robert F. Shea, Jr., Division Director, Program Support Division, Mitigation Directorate, 500 C Street SW., room 417, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646-3619.

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


The NFIP enables property owners to purchase flood insurance which is generally not otherwise available. In return, communities agree to adopt and administer local floodplain management measures aimed at protecting lives and new construction from future flooding. Since the communities on the attached list have recently entered the NFIP, subsidized flood insurance is now available for property in the community.

In addition, the Associate Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency has identified the special flood hazard areas in some of these communities by publishing a Flood Hazard Boundary Map (FHBM) or Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM). The date of the flood map, if one has been published, is indicated in the fourth column of the table. In the communities listed where a flood map has been published, Section 102 of the Flood Disaster Protection Act of 1973, as amended, 42 U.S.C. 4012(a), requires the purchase of flood insurance as a condition of Federal or federally related financial assistance for acquisition or Start Printed Page 8663construction of buildings in the special flood hazard areas shown on the map.

The Associate Director finds that the delayed effective dates would be contrary to the public interest. The Associate Director also finds that notice and public procedure under 5 U.S.C. 553(b) are impracticable and unnecessary.

National Environmental Policy Act

This rule is categorically excluded from the requirements of 44 CFR Part 10, Environmental Considerations. No environmental impact assessment has been prepared.

Regulatory Flexibility Act

The Associate Director certifies that this rule will not have a significant economic impact on a substantial number of small entities in accordance with the Regulatory Flexibility Act, 5 U.S.C. 601 et seq., because the rule creates no additional burden, but lists those communities eligible for the sale of flood insurance.

Regulatory Classification

This final rule is not a significant regulatory action under the criteria of section 3(f) of Executive Order 12866 of September 30, 1993, Regulatory Planning and Review, 58 FR 51735.

Paperwork Reduction Act

This rule does not involve any collection of information for purposes of the Paperwork Reduction Act, 44 U.S.C. 3501 et seq.

Executive Order 12612, Federalism

This rule involves no policies that have federalism implications under Executive Order 12612, Federalism, October 26, 1987, 3 CFR, 1987 Comp., p. 252.

Executive Order 12778, Civil Justice Reform

This rule meets the applicable standards of section 2(b)(2) of Executive Order 12778, October 25, 1991, 56 FR 55195, 3 CFR, 1991 Comp., p. 309.

Start List of Subjects

List of Subjects in 44 CFR Part 64

  • Flood insurance
  • Floodplains
End List of Subjects Start Amendment Part

Accordingly, 44 CFR part 64 is amended as follows:

End Amendment Part Start Part


End Part Start Amendment Part

1. The authority citation for Part 64 continues to read as follows:

End Amendment Part Start Authority

Authority: 42 U.S.C. 4001 et seq., Reorganization Plan No. 3 of 1978, 3 CFR, 1978 Comp., p. 329; E.O. 12127, 44 FR 19367, 3 CFR, 1979 Comp., p. 376.

End Authority
Start Amendment Part

2. The tables published under the authority of § 64.6 are amended as follows:

End Amendment Part
State/locationCommunity No.Effective date of eligibilityCurrent effective map date
New Eligibles—Emergency Program
Washington: Garfield, county of, unincorporated areas530047Dec. 1, 1999Nov. 15, 1977.
Utah: Monticello, city of, San Juan County490212Dec. 6, 1999Dec. 24, 1976.
Tennessee: Overton, county of, unincorporated areas470362Dec. 9, 1999Jan. 13, 1978.
Brandon, township of, Oakland County261031Dec. 17, 1999
Ensley, township of, Newaygo
Delhi, city of, Delaware County190566......doMar. 19, 1976.
Cerro Gordo, county of, unincorporated areas190853Dec. 29, 1999June 7, 1977.
Texas: Schulenburg, city of, Fayette County481134Jan. 5, 2000June 25, 1976.
New Eligibles—Regular Program
Tennessee: Plainview, city of, Union County470417Dec. 9, 1999July 16, 1990.
Indiana: New Castle, city of, Henry County180092Sept. 4, 1987, Reg.; Sept. 4, 1987, Susp.; Dec. 17, 1999, Reg.; Dec. 17, 1999, ReinSept. 4, 1987.
Regular Program Conversions
Region II
New York: Sloatsburg, village of, Rockland County360690Dec. 1, 1999, Suspension WithdrawnDec. 1, 1999.
Region I
Rhode Island: North Providence, town of, Providence County440020Dec. 6, 1999, Suspension WithdrawnDec. 6, 1999.
Region III
Philadelphia: Smithfield, township of, Monroe  Do.
Region V
Nashville, village of, Barry  Do.
Northville, city of, Wayne & Oakland  Do.
Ohio: Bay Village, city of, Cuyahoga  Do.
Ozaukee County, unincorporated  Do.
Saukville, village of, Ozaukee  Do.
Region VI
Oklahoma: Lincoln County, unincorporated  Do.
Midland, city of, Midland  Do.
Midland County, unincorporated  Do.
Odessa, city of, Midland  Do.
Start Printed Page 8664
Region VII
Iowa: Ankeny, city of, Polk  Do.
Foristell, city of, St. Charles  Do.
Lee's Summit, city of, Jackson & Cass  Do.
Albion, city of, Boone  Do.
Boone County, unincorporated  Do.
Petersburg, village of, Boone  Do.
St. Edward, village of, Boone  Do.
Region VIII
Utah: Santa Clara, town of, Washington  Do.
Region X
Alaska: Kenai Peninsula, borough  Do.
Washington: Kittitas County, unincorporated  Do.
Region I
Bellows Falls, village of, Windham County500125Dec. 20, 1999 Suspension WithdrawnDec. 20, 1999.
Rockingham, town of, Windham  Do.
Springfield, town of, Windsor  Do.
Thetford, town of, Orange  Do.
Region IV
South Carolina:
Hollywood, town of, Charleston  Do.
Ravenel, town of, Charleston  Do.
Lincoln County, unincorporated  Do.
Petersburg, town of, Lincoln  Do.
Region V
Minnesota: Sauk Rapids, city of Benton  Do.
Wisconsin: Grant County, unincorporated  Do.
1 The City of Plainview adopted the Union County Flood Insurance Rate Map (CID #470194) dated 07/16/90, panel 0100B.
Code for reading third column: Emerg.—Emergency; Reg.—Regular; Rein.—Reinstatement; Susp.—Suspension; With.—Withdrawn; NSFHA—Non Special Flood Hazard Area.

(Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance No. 83.100, “Flood Insurance.”)

Start Signature

Issued: February 8, 2000.

Michael J. Armstrong,

Associate Director for Mitigation.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 00-4074 Filed 2-18-00; 8:45 am]