Skip to Content


Announcement of Funding Awards for the Indian Housing Drug Elimination Program for Fiscal Year 2001

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Office of Native American Programs, HUD.


Announcement of funding awards.

Start Printed Page 53243


In accordance with Section 102(a)(4)(C) of the Department of Housing and Urban Development Reform Act of 1989, this announcement notifies the public of funding decisions made by the Department in a competition for funding under the Fiscal Year 2001 Notice of Funding Availability (NOFA) for the Indian Housing Drug Elimination Program (IHDEP). This announcement contains the consolidated names and addresses of these award recipients under the IHDEP.

Start Further Info


For questions concerning the Indian Housing Drug Elimination Program awards, contact Barbara Gallegos, Office of Native Programs, Denver Program Office, 1999 Broadway, Suite 3390, Denver, CO 80202, telephone 1-800-561-5913 or the Indian Housing Drug Elimination Program Resource Center at 1-800-839-5561. Hearing or speech-impaired individuals may access this number via TTY by calling the toll-free Federal Information Relay Service at 1-800-877-8339.

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


The $12 million appropriated to fund the IHDEP was made available from the FY 2001 HUD Appropriation Act (Pub.L. 106-377, approved October 27, 2000). This program provides grants to Indian tribes and tribally designated housing entities (TDHEs) to eliminate drugs and drug-related crime in American Indian and Alaskan Native communities.

The FY 2001 awards announced in this Notice were selected for funding in a competition announced in a NOFA published in the Federal Register on February 26, 2001 (66 FR 11963). Applications were scored and selected for funding based on the selection criteria in that Notice and a national competition.

In accordance with Section 102 (a)(4)(C) of the Department of Housing and Urban Development Reform Act of 1989 (103 Stat.1987, 42 U.S.C. 3545), the Department is publishing the names, addresses, and amounts of the 50 awards made under the national competition in Appendix A to this document.

Start Signature

Dated: October 12, 2001.

Michael Liu,

Assistant Secretary for the Office of Public and Indian Housing.

End Signature

Appendix A.—Awarded Applicants FY 2001 Indian Housing Drug Elimination Program

Applicant nameContactAddressCityStateZipcodeTotal
Bering Straits Regional Housing AuthorityMr. Wayne MundyP.O. Box 995NomeAK99762$173,700
Cook Inlet Housing AuthorityMs. Carol Gore3510 Spenard Road, Suite 201AnchorageAK99503133,500
North Pacific Rim Housing AuthorityMr. Olen Harris8300 King StreetAnchorageAK9951875,300
Tagiumiullu Nunamiullu Housing AuthorityMr. Delbert RexfordP.O. Box 409BarrowAK99723169,200
Tlinget-Haida Regional Housing AuthorityMr. Blake Kazama5446 Jenkins Dr., P.O. Box 32237JuneauAK99803172,500
Poarch Band of Creek Indians Housing DevelopmentMr. Fred McGhee5811 Jack Springs RdAtmoreAL3650261,500
Gila River Department of Community HousingMs. Joyce EddieP.O. Box 528SacatonAZ85247316,500
Navajo NationMr. Kelsey BegayeP.O. Box 9000Window RockAZ865151,500,000
Tohono O'Odham Ki:Ki AssociationMr. Loren GoldtoothP.O. Box 790SellsAZ85634279,900
White Mountain Apache Housing AuthorityMr. Victor VelasquezP.O. Box 1270WhiteriverAZ85941351,520
Concow-Maidu/Mooretown RancheriaMs. Shirley Prusia1 Alverda DriveOrovilleCA9596615,000
Northern Circle Indian Housing AuthorityMs. Darlene Tooley694 PinolevilleUkiahCA9548250,700
Round Valley Indian Housing AuthorityMr. Clifford SloanP.O. Box 682CoveloCA9542834,200
Southern Ute Indian Housing AuthorityMs. Rachel SorrellP.O. Box 447IgnacioCO8113762,400
Seminole Tribe of FloridaMr. James Billie6300 Stirling RoadHollywoodFL33024140,100
Nez Perce Tribal Housing AuthorityMs. Cielo GibsonP.O. Box 188LapwaiID8354077,100
Pleasant Point PassamaquoddyMr. R. Clayton CleavesRR1 Box 339PerryME0466736,000
Bay Mills Housing AuthorityMr. Jeffrey Parker3095 S. Towering PinesBrimleyMI4971560,900
Sault Ste Marie Tribe Housing AuthorityMs. Jolene Nertoli2218 Shunk RoadSault Ste, MarieMI49783129,600
Mille Lacs Health & Human Services CenterMs. Linda Lyons43408 OodenaOnamiaMN5635940,500
Choctaw Housing AuthorityMr. Morris CarpenterP.O. Box 6088, Choctaw BranchPhiladelphiaMS39350282,300
Blackfeet HousingMr. Ray WilsonPO Box 449BrowningMT59417333,320
Fort Peck Assiniboine and Sioux TribesMr. Arlyn HeaddressP.O. Box 1027PoplarMT59155330,000
Salish Kootenai Housing AuthorityMr. Robert GauthierP.O. Box 38PabloMT59855197,700
Qualla Housing AuthorityMs. Catherine LambertP.O. Box 1749, Acquoni RoadCherokeeNC29719276,300
Start Printed Page 53244
Fort Berthold Housing AuthorityMr. Charles MoranP.O. Box 310NewtownND58763202,200
Standing Rock Housing AuthorityMr. Ken AlkireP.O. Box 484Fort Yates58538275,400
Turtle Mountain Housing AuthorityMs. Becky PhelpsP.O. Box 620BelcourtND58316396,760
Omaha Tribal Housing AuthorityMs. Erica SpearsP.O. Box 150MacyNE6803979,500
Zuni Housing AuthorityMs. Mary GhahateP.O. Box 710, Pueblo of ZuniZuniNM87327192,900
Reno Sparks Indian Colony Tribal CouncilMr. Arlan Melendez98 Colony RoadRenoNV8950260,000
Washoe Housing AuthorityMr. Willard Bennett1588 Watasheamu DrGardnervilleNV8941046,500
Chickasaw Nation Division of HousingMr. Wayne Scribner901 N. Country Club RoadAdaOK74820468,520
Housing Authority of the Cherokee NationMr. Chadwick SmithP.O. Box 948TahlequahOK74465725,660
Housing Authority of the Chocktaw Nation of OklahomaMr. Russell SossamonP.O. Box GHugoOK74743562,900
Kaw Tribal Housing AuthorityMs. Maryln Springer#9 Kanza Lane, P.O. Box 371NewkirkOK7464735,100
Cheyenne River Housing AuthorityMr. Wayne DucheneauxP.O. Box 480Eagle ButteSD57625270,300
Oglala Sioux Lakota HousingMr. Richard ShangreauxP.O. Box CPine RidgeSD57770395,980
Rosebud Sioux TribeMr. James WalnBox #69RosebudSD57570326,700
Sisseton Wahpeton Housing AuthorityMr. Ron JonesP.O. Box 687SisseltonSD57262184,800
Yankton Sioux Tribal Housing AuthorityMr. Joseph Abdo, Jr410 South Main StreetWagnerSD5738093,900
Lummi Indian NationMr. William Jones2616 Kwina RoadBellinghamWA9822670,800
Skokomish Indian Tribe Housing AuthorityMs. Elizabeth Griffin-HallNorth 80 Tribal Center RoadSheltonWA9858423,700
Bad River Band of Lake Superior Tribe of ChippewaMr. Eugene Bigboy, SrP.O. Box 39OdanahWI5486157,900
Ho-Chunk Housing AuthorityMs. Myra PriceP.O. Box 546TomahWI5466053,400
Lac Courtes Oreilles Indian Housing AuthorityMr. J. Wm. Cadotte13416 W. Trepania RdHaywardWI54843135,000
Lac Du Flambeau Chippewa Housing AuthorityMs. Natalie Poupart554 Chicog Street, P.O. Box 187Lac Du FlambeauWI5453893,300
Menominee Indian Tribe of WisconsinMr. Wendell AskenetteP.O. Box 910KeshenaWI54135121,200
Eastern Shoshone Housing AuthorityMs. Cheryl ArthurP.O. Box 1250Ft. WashakieWY8251487,900
Northern Arapaho Tribal HousingMr. Frank ArmajoP.O. Box 8236EtheteWY82520116,100
End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 01-26333 Filed 10-18-01; 8:45 am]