Skip to Content


Six County Association of Governments-Construction and Operation Exemption-Rail Line Between Levan and Salina, UT

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Surface Transportation Board.


Notice of exemption.


Under 49 U.S.C. 10502, the Board conditionally exempts from the prior approval requirements of 49 U.S.C. 10901 the construction and operation by the Six County Association of Governments of a 43-mile line of railroad between Salina, UT, and a connection with a line of the Union Pacific Railroad Company in the vicinity of Levan, UT.


The exemption will not become effective until the environmental review process is completed. Once that process is completed, the Board will issue a further decision addressing the environmental impacts and, if appropriate, will make the exemption effective at that time, thereby allowing construction to begin. Petitions to reopen must be filed by November 15, 2001.


Send pleadings, referring to STB Finance Docket No. 34075, to: (1) Surface Transportation Board, Office of the Secretary, Case Control Unit, 1925 K Street, NW., Washington, DC 20423-0001; and (2) Sandra L. Brown and D. Michael Hurst, Jr., Troutman Sanders LLP, 401 9th Street, NW., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20004.

Start Further Info


Joseph H. Dettmar, (202) 565-1600 [TDD for the hearing impaired: 1-800-877-8339.]

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


Additional information is contained in the Board's decision. To purchase a copy of the full decision, write to, call, or pick up in person from: Da 2 Da Legal, Room 405, 1925 K Street, NW., Washington, DC 20006. Telephone: (202) 293-7776. [TDD for the hearing impaired: 1-800-877-8339.]

Board decisions and notices are available on our website at “WWW.STB.DOT.GOV.

Start Signature

Decided: October 18, 2001.

By the Board, Chairman Morgan, Vice Chairman Clyburn, and Commissioner Burkes.

Vernon A. Williams,


End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 01-26774 Filed 10-25-01; 8:45 am]