Skip to Content


Economic Injury Disaster Loans as a Result of the September 11, 2001 Terrorist Attacks

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Document Statistics
Document page views are updated periodically throughout the day and are cumulative counts for this document including its time on Public Inspection. Counts are subject to sampling, reprocessing and revision (up or down) throughout the day.
Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Notice of extension of application deadline.

Start Further Info


George Camp, Supervisory Program Analyst, Office of Disaster Assistance, 202-205-6734.

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


In response to the President's major disaster declarations with respect to the World Trade Center and the Pentagon and the widespread economic impact caused by the terrorist attacks and the related Federal actions taken directly thereafter, the SBA revised its disaster loan regulations on October 22, 2001. Under the revised regulations, SBA can make economic injury loans to eligible small business concerns outside the declared disaster areas that suffered substantial economic injury as a direct result of the destruction of the World Trade Center or the damage to the Pentagon on September 11, 2001, or as a direct result of any related Federal action taken between September 11, 2001 and October 22, 2001. As provided in 13 CFR 123.605, SBA extends the application deadline for good cause. A large number of applications were issued and have not been returned to the SBA. With this Notice, the SBA extends the filing deadline for economic injury disaster loans under this disaster program from January 22, 2002 to April 22, 2002.

Applications for economic injury disaster loans may be obtained and filed at the SBA disaster office servicing the applicant's state.

The disaster numbers assigned are:

Area 1

Connecticut 9TCT, District of Columbia 9TDC, Delaware 9TDE, Maryland 9TMD, Maine 9TME, Massachusetts 9TMA, New Hampshire 9TNH, New Jersey 9TNJ, New York 9TNY, Pennsylvania 9TPA, Rhode Island 9TRI, Virginia 9TVA, Vermont 9TVT, West Virginia 9TWV, Puerto Rico 9TPR, Virgin Islands 9TVI

Area 2

Alabama 9TAL, Florida 9TFL, Georgia 9TGA, Illinois 9TIL, Indiana 9TIN, Kentucky 9TKY, Michigan 9TMI, Minnesota 9TMN, Mississippi 9TMS, North Carolina 9TNC, Ohio 9TOH, South Carolina 9TSC, Tennessee 9TTN, Wisconsin 9TWI

Area 3

Arkansas 9TAR, Colorado 9TCO, Iowa 9TIA, Kansas 9TKS, Louisiana 9TLA, Missouri 9TMO, Montana 9TMT, North Dakota 9TND, Nebraska 9TNE, New Mexico 9TNM, South Dakota 9TSD, Oklahoma 9TOK, Texas 9TTX, Utah 9TUT, Wyoming 9TWY

Area 4

Alaska 9TAK, Arizona 9TAZ, California 9TCA, Hawaii 9THI, Idaho 9TID, Nevada 9TNV, Oregon 9TOR, Washington 9TWA, American Samoa 9TAS, Federated States of Micronesia 9TFM, Guam 9TGU, Republic of the Marshall Islands 9TMH, Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands 9TMP

The interest rate for eligible small businesses is 4 percent.

Start Authority

Authority: 13 CFR part 123, subpart G.

End Authority Start Signature

Dated: January 9, 2002.

Herbert L. Mitchell,

Associate Administrator for Disaster Assistance.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 02-934 Filed 1-14-02; 8:45 am]