Skip to Content


The President's New Freedom Commission on Mental Health; Notice of Meeting

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble

Pursuant to Executive Order 13263, notice is hereby given of a meeting of the President's New Freedom Commission on Mental Health in September 2002.

The meeting will be open and will consider how to accomplish the Commission's mandate to conduct a comprehensive study of the United States mental health service delivery system and to make recommendations on improving the delivery of public and private mental health services for adults and children. The Commission meeting will focus on issues relating to children and families including access to and coordination of mental health services, family engagement efforts, school-based services, the juvenile court system and trauma-related issues.

Attendance by the public will be limited to space available. Public comments are welcome. Please communicate with the individual listed as contact below to make arrangements to comment or to request special accommodations for persons with disabilities.

Additional information and a roster of Commission members may be obtained either by accessing the Commission Web site,, or by communicating with the contact whose name and telephone number is listed below.

Committee Name: The President's New Freedom Commission on Mental Health.

Meeting Date/Time: Open: September 11, 2002, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Open: September 12, 2002, 8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Place: Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown, 600 North State Street, Chicago, Illinois 60610.

Contact: Claire Heffernan, Executive Secretary, 5600 Fishers Lane, Parklawn Building, Room 13C-26, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-1545; Fax: (301) 480-1554 and e-mail: Web site:

Start Signature

Dated: August 19, 2002.

Toian Vaughn,

Committee Management Officer, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

End Signature End Preamble

[FR Doc. 02-21510 Filed 8-22-02; 8:45 am]