Skip to Content


2002 National Clean Water Act Recognition Awards

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).


Notice; announcement of EPA's 2002 National Clean Water Act Recognition Awards Presentation at the Water Environment Federation's Technical Conference (WEFTEC).


The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency will recognize municipalities and industries for outstanding and innovative technological achievements in wastewater treatment and pollution abatement programs at the annual Clean Water Act Recognition Awards ceremony during the Water Environment Federation's Technical Conference in Chicago, Illinois. We are recognizing projects or programs in operations and maintenance, biosolids management, pretreatment, storm water management and combined sewer overflow controls. This action also announces the 2002 national awards winners.


Monday, September 30, 2002, 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.


The National awards presentation ceremony will be held at McCormick Place Convention Center, Chicago, Illinois.

Start Further Info


Maria E. Campbell at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Wastewater Management, Municipal Assistance Branch, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW., (4204M), Washington, DC 20460, (202) 564-0628, or

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


The National Clean Water Act Recognition Awards program is authorized under sec. 501(a) and (e) of the Clean Water Act. The awards program provides national recognition and encourages public support of programs aimed at protecting the public's health and safety and the nation's water quality. State water pollution control agencies and EPA regional offices make recommendations to headquarters for the national awards. Programs being recognized are in compliance with applicable water quality requirements and have a satisfactory record with respect to environmental quality. Municipalities and industries are recognized for their demonstrated achievements through the following:

(1) Outstanding operations and maintenance practices at publicly owned wastewater treatment facilities;

(2) Exemplary biosolids operating projects, technology development, research and public acceptance efforts;

(3) Municipal implementation and enforcement of local pretreatment programs;

(4) Implementing outstanding, innovative, and cost-effective storm water control; and,

(5) Combined sewer overflow control programs. Winners and categories for the EPA's 2002 National Clean Water Act Recognition Awards program are as follows:

National Operations and Maintenance Awards:
First Place:
City of Dallas Southside WWTP, Dallas, TexasLarge Advanced Plant.
City of Louisville WWTP, Louisville, ColoradoMedium Advanced Plant.
South Berwick Sewer District, South Berwick, MaineSmall Advanced Plant.
Passaic Valley Sewerage Commissioners, Newark, New JerseyLarge Secondary Plant.
City of Hamilton WWTP, Hamilton, MontanaMedium Secondary Plant.
Village of Amherst WWTF, Amherst, WisconsinSmall Secondary Plant.
Selma-Kingsburg-Fowler County Sanitation District, Kingsburg, CaliforniaLarge Non-Discharging Plant.
Second Place:
Lancaster Area Sewer Authority, Susquehanna WPCF, Lancaster, PennsylvaniaLarge Advanced Plant.
Dale Mabry Advanced WWTP, Tampa, FloridaMedium Advanced Plant.
Town of Gorham WWTF, Gorham, New YorkSmall Advanced Plant.
City of Evansville Eastside WWTP, Evansville, IndianaLarge Secondary Plant.
Escatawpa Regional WWTP, Moss Point, MississippiMedium Secondary Plant.
Lineville WWTP, Lineville, IowaSmall Secondary Plant.
City of Sturgis WWTP, Sturgis, South DakotaLarge Non-Discharging Plant.
Start Printed Page 58795
National Biosolids Management Awards:
First Place:
Merrimack, WWTF, Merrimack, New HampshireLarge Operating Projects.
City of Hood River WWTP, Hood River, OregonSmall Operating Projects.
WNET, PBS Affiliate Television Station, New York, New York & U.S. EPA Region III, Water Protection Division, Philadelphia, PennsylvaniaPublic Acceptance (Municipal).
Second Place:
Roanoke Regional WPCP, Roanoke, VirginiaLarge Operating Projects—tie.
City of Largo, Wastewater Reclamation Facility, Clearwater, FloridaLarge Operating Projects—tie.
Lower Colorado River Authority, Burnet, TexasSmall Operating Projects.
Honorable Mention:
City of Port Huron WWTP, Port Huron, MichiganSmall Operating Projects.
National Pretreatment Awards:
First Place:
Texarkana Water Utilities, Texarkana, Texas0-25 Significant Industrial Users (SIUs).
Chesterfield County Utilities Department, Chesterfield County, Virginia26-100 SIUs.
Sub-regional Operating Group of the Cities of Glendale, Mesa, Phoenix, Scottsdale and Tempe, ArizonaGreater than 100 SIUs.
Second Place:
City of Bangor WWTP, Bangor, Maine0-25 SIUs.
Palo Alto Regional WQCP, Palo Alto, California26-100 SIUs.
San Antonio Water System, San Antonio, TexasGreater than 100 SIUs.
National Storm Water Management Awards:
First Place:
Greater Battle Creek Area Watershed Management Project, Battle Creek, Springfield and Calhoun County, MichiganMunicipal.
Second Place:
Jefferson Parish Department of Environmental Affairs, Jefferson, LouisianaMunicipal.
National Combined Sewer Overflow Control Awards:
First Place—Tie
Lincoln Sanitary District, Lincoln, Maine.
Sanitary District of Michigan City, Michigan City, Indiana.
Start Signature

Dated: September 12, 2002.

James A. Hanlon,

Director, Office of Wastewater Management.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 02-23744 Filed 9-17-02; 8:45 am]