Skip to Content


Task Force on Agricultural Air Quality

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Document Statistics
Document page views are updated periodically throughout the day and are cumulative counts for this document including its time on Public Inspection. Counts are subject to sampling, reprocessing and revision (up or down) throughout the day.
Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Natural Resources Conservation Service, USDA.


Notice of appointment of members and of meeting.


The Secretary of Agriculture has appointed new members to the Task Force on Agricultural Air Quality. Please see the list at the end of this notice. In addition, the Task Force on Agricultural Air Quality will meet to continue discussions on critical air quality issues in relation to agriculture. Special emphasis will be placed on obtaining a greater understanding about the relationship between agricultural production and air quality. The meeting is open to the public.


The meeting will convene Tuesday, May 20, 2003, at 9 a.m., and continue until 4 p.m. and will resume Wednesday, May 21, 2003, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Individuals with written material and those who have requests to make oral presentations should contact the Natural Resources Conservation Service, at the address below, on or before May 7, 2003.

Start Printed Page 23692


The meeting will be held at the Hall of the States Building in Room 333, 444 North Capitol Street, Washington, DC 20001, telephone (202) 624-8570. Written material and requests to make oral presentations should be sent to Beth Sauerhaft, USDA-NRCS, Post Office Box 2890, Room 6158, Washington, DC 20013.

Start Further Info


Questions or comments should be directed to Beth Sauerhaft, Designated Federal Official; telephone: (202) 720-8578; fax: (202) 720-2646; e-mail:

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


Notice of this meeting is given under the Federal Advisory Committee Act, 5 U.S.C. App. 2. Additional information about the Task Force on Agricultural Air Quality, including any revised agendas for the May 20 and 21, 2003, meeting that occur after this Federal Register Notice is published, may be found on the World Wide Web at​faca.

2003-2004 Task Force on Agricultural Air Quality—Members


Tommy L. Coleman, Alabama A&M University


Kevin G. Rogers, Producer


Mark P. Boese, San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District

Manuel F. Cunha, Jr., Nisei Farmers League

Robert G. Flocchini, University of California-Davis

Roger Isom, California Cotton Ginners & Growers


Stephanie A. Whalen, Hawaii Agricultural Research Center


Dave Roper, Producer

Dar Olberding, Idaho Grain Producers


James K. Trotter, Producer


Robert N. Jackman, Veterinarian, State Senator

Rita Sharma, Producer


Phillip J. Wakelyn, National Cotton Council of America

New York

Douglas Shelmidine, Producer

North Carolina

Viney P. Aneja, North Carolina State University

Garth W. Boyd, Smithfield Foods, Inc.

Joseph Rudek, Environmental Defense

Sally L. Shaver, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency


Annette H. Sharp, Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality


Robert V. Avant, Jr., Texas Food and Fibers Commission

Calvin B. Parnell, Jr., Texas A&M University

John M. Sweeten, Jr., Texas A&M University


Nan Wankier Bunker, Producer

West Virginia

Timothy Wade Maupin, Cargill Turkey Products

Draft Agenda of the May 20 and 21, 2003, Meeting

A. Welcome to Washington, DC

1. USDA and NRCS Officials

B. Discussion of Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA) Rules

C. USDA Update

  • NRCS
  • ARS
  • FS

D. EPA Update

  • National Academy of Sciences Scientific Assessment
  • Status of the Voluntary Compliance Policy
  • Other Issues

E. New Topics

  • Clean Air Advisory Committee Update
  • Discussion of Goals for Task Force During This Charter
  • External Speaker—to be decided upon

F. Next Meeting, Time/Place

G. Public Input (Time will be reserved before lunch and at the close of each daily session to receive public comment. Individual presentations will be limited to 5 minutes).


This meeting is open to the public. At the discretion of the Chair, members of the public may give oral presentations during the meeting. Persons wishing to make oral presentations should notify Beth Sauerhaft no later than May 7, 2003. If a person submitting material would like a copy distributed to each member of the committee in advance of the meeting, that person should submit 25 copies to Beth Sauerhaft no later than May 7, 2003.

Information on Services for Individuals With Disabilities

For information on facilities or services for individuals with disabilities or to request special assistance at the meeting, contact Beth Sauerhaft.

USDA prohibits discrimination in its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, national origin, gender, religion, age, sexual orientation, or disability. Additionally, discrimination on the basis of political beliefs and marital or family status is also prohibited by statutes enforced by USDA. (Not all prohibited bases apply to all programs.) Persons with disabilities who require alternate means for communication of program information (braille, large print, audio tape, etc.) should contact the USDA's Target Center at (202) 720-2000 (voice and TDD). The USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

Start Signature

Signed in Washington, DC, on April 25, 2003.

Bruce I. Knight,

Chief, Natural Resources Conservation Service.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 03-11040 Filed 5-2-03; 8:45 am]