Skip to Content


National Clean Water Act Recognition Awards: Presentation of Awards at the Water Environment Federation's Technical Exposition and Conference (WEFTEC), and Announcement of 2004 National Awards Winners

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)




The Environmental Protection Agency will recognize municipalities and industries for outstanding and innovative technological achievements in wastewater treatment and pollution abatement programs at the annual Clean Water Act Recognition Awards ceremony during the Water Environment Federation's Technical Exposition and Conference (WEFTEC) in New Orleans, Louisiana. An inscribed plaque will be presented to first and second place winners for projects and programs in operations and maintenance at wastewater treatment plants, biosolids management, pretreatment, storm water management and combined sewer overflow controls. This action also announces the 2004 national awards winners.


Monday, October 4, 2004, 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.


The national awards presentation ceremony will be held at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, 900 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, Louisiana.

Start Further Info


Maria E. Campbell, Telephone: (202) 564-0628. Facsimile Number: (202) 501-2396. E-Mail: Also visit the Office of Wastewater Management's webpage at​owm.

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


The Clean Water Act Recognition Awards are authorized by section 501(a) and (e) of the Clean Water Act, and 33 U.S.C. 1361(a) and (e). Applications and nominations for the national award must be recommended by EPA regions. State agencies can also provide recommendations to EPA regional offices. A regulation establishes a framework for the annual recognition awards program at 40 CFR part 105. EPA announced the availability of application and nomination information for this year's awards (69 FR 13826, March 24, 2004). The awards program provides national recognition and encourages public support of programs aimed at protecting the public's health and safety and the nation's water quality. Programs and projects being recognized are in compliance with applicable water quality requirements and have a satisfactory record with respect to environmental quality. Municipalities and industries are recognized for their demonstrated achievements in five awards categories as follows:

(1) Outstanding operations and maintenance practices at wastewater treatment facilities;

(2) Exemplary biosolids management projects, technology/innovation or development activities, research and public acceptance efforts;

(3) Outstanding municipal implementation and enforcement of local pretreatment programs;

(4) Implementing outstanding, innovative, and cost-effective storm water control; and,

(5) Outstanding combined sewer overflow control programs.

The winners of the EPA's 2004 National Clean Water Act Recognition Awards are listed below by category.

Operations and Maintenance Awards Category
First place:
Dos Rios Water Reclamation Center, San Antonio Water Systems, San Antonio, TexasLarge Advanced Plant.
City of Dunbar Sanitary Board, Dunbar, West VirginiaMedium Advanced Plant.
Florence Regional Sewage District, Florence, IndianaSmall Advanced Plant.
Oceanside Treatment Plant, Southwest Ocean, Outfall and Westside Wet Weather Facility, San Francisco, CaliforniaLarge Secondary Plant.
Central Davis Sewer District, Kaysville, UtahMedium Secondary Plant.
Old Forge Sewer District, Old Forge, New YorkSmall Secondary Plant.
Second place:
James C. Kirie Water Reclamation Plant, Des Plaines, IllinoisLarge Advanced Plant.
Iowa Hill Water Reclamation Facility, Breckenridge Sanitation District, Breckenridge, ColoradoMedium Advanced Plant.
Beaver Estates Water Pollution Control Plant, Douglasville-Douglas County Water & Sewer Authority, Douglasville, GeorgiaSmall Advanced Plant.
Gautier Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant, Pascagoula, MississippiMedium Secondary Plant.
Henniker, New Hampshire Wastewater Treatment Facility, Henniker, New HampshireSmall Secondary Plant.
Biosolids Management Awards Category
First place:
Metro Denver—Metrogro Farm, Denver, ColoradoLarge Operating Projects (tie).
Parker Ag Services-NYC Program, Lamar, ColoradoLarge Operating Projects (tie).
Central Davis Sewer District, Kaysville, UtahSmall Operating Projects.
Dr. Sally Brown, College of Forest Research, University of Washington, Seattle, WashingtonResearch Activities.
City of Tacoma Wastewater Management, Tacoma, WashingtonTechnology/Innovation or Development Activities.
Second place:
Clean Water Services of Washington County, Hillsboro, OregonLarge Operating Projects.
Start Printed Page 58914
Rockingham WWTP & Composting Facility, Rockingham, North CarolinaSmall Operating Projects.
Special award:
Orange County Sanitation District, Fountain Valley, CaliforniaContinued commitment to effective program planning, management, public outreach and stakeholder involvement, and pioneer efforts in developing and implementing their Biosolids Environmental Management Systems (EMS).
Pretreatment Awards Category
First place:
Borough of Catasauqua, Catasauqua, Pennsylvania0 to 5 Significant Industrial Users (SIUs).
Warwick Sewer Authority, Warwick, Rhode Island6-20 SIUs.
East Bay Municipal Utility District, Oakland, California21 & Greater SIUs.
Second place:
Kent County Regional Wastewater Treatment Facility, Dover, Delaware6-20 SIUs.
Columbus Water Works, Columbus, Georgia21 & Greater SIUs (tie).
Hampton Roads Sanitation District, Virginia Beach, Virginia21 & Greater SIUs (tie).
Stormwater Management Awards Category
First place:
Sanitation District No. 1 of Northern Kentucky, Fort Wright, KentuckyMunicipal.
Second place:
City of Sacramento Stormwater Quality Improvement Program, Sacramento, CaliforniaMunicipal.
Combined Sewer Overflow Controls
First place:
City of Mount Clemens, Mount Clemens, MichiganMunicipal.
Second place:
City of Port Huron, Port Huron, MichiganMunicipal.
Start Signature

Dated: September 23, 2004.

Elaine Brenner,

Acting Director, Office of Wastewater Management.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 04-22087 Filed 9-30-04; 8:45 am]