Skip to Content


National Advisory Committee for Acute Exposure Guideline Levels for Hazardous Substances; Notice of Public Meeting

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).




A meeting of the National Advisory Committee for Acute Exposure Guideline Levels for Hazardous Substances (NAC/AEGL Committee) will be held on March 20-22, 2007, in Irvine, CA. At this meeting, the NAC/AEGL Committee will address, as time permits, the various aspects of the acute toxicity and the development of Acute Exposure Guideline Levels (AEGLs) for the following chemicals: Acetonitrile; acrylic acid; acrylonitrile; allyl chloride; boron tribromide; bromine chloride; carbonyl fluoride; chloroacetonitrile; chlorobenzene; diketene; ethylene fluorohydrin; isobutyronitrile; malononitrile; methanol; N, N-dimethylformamide; oxygen difluoride; propionitrile; propylene oxide; silicon tetrafluoride; stibine; tetrachloroethylene; 1,1,1-trichloroethane; and toluene.


A meeting of the NAC/AEGL Committee will be held from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. on March 20, 2007; from 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. on March 21, 2007; and from 8 a.m. to noon on March 22, 2007.


The meeting will be held at the Beckman Center, 100 Academy, Irvine, CA 92617.

Start Further Info


For general information contact: Colby Lintner, Regulatory Coordinator, Environmental Assistance Division (7408M), Office of Pollution Prevention Start Printed Page 5289and Toxics, Environmental Protection Agency, 1200 Pennsylvania Ave., NW., Washington, DC 20460-0001; telephone number: (202) 554-1404; e-mail address:

For technical information contact: Paul S. Tobin, Designated Federal Officer (DFO), Economics, Exposure, and Technology Division (7406M), Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics, 1200 Pennsylvania Ave., NW., Washington, DC 20460-0001; telephone number: (202) 564-8557; e-mail address:

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


I. General Information

A. Does this Action Apply to Me?

This action is directed to the public in general. This action may be of particular interest to anyone who may be affected if the AEGL values are adopted by government agencies for emergency planning, prevention, or response programs, such as EPA's Risk Management Program under the Clean Air Act and Amendments Section 112r. It is possible that other Federal agencies besides EPA, as well as State agencies and private organizations, may adopt the AEGL values for their programs. As such, the Agency has not attempted to describe all the specific entities that may be affected by this action. If you have any questions regarding the applicability of this action to a particular entity, consult the DFO listed under FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT.

B. How Can I Get Copies of this Document and Other Related Information?

1. Docket. All documents in the docket are listed in the docket's index available at Although listed in the index, some information is not publicly available, e.g., Confidential Business Information (CBI) or other information whose disclosure is restricted by statute. Certain other material, such as copyrighted material, will be publicly available only in hard copy. Publicly available docket materials are available electronically at, or, if only available in hard copy, at the OPPT Docket. The OPPT Docket is located in the EPA Docket Center (EPA/DC) at Rm. 3334, EPA West Bldg., 1301 Constitution Ave., NW., Washington, DC. The EPA/DC Public Reading Room hours of operation are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding Federal holidays. The telephone number of the EPA/DC Public Reading Room is (202) 566-1744, and the telephone number for the OPPT Docket is (202) 566-0280. Docket visitors are required to show photographic identification, pass through a metal detector, and sign the EPA visitor log. All visitor bags are processed through an X-ray machine and subject to search. Visitors will be provided an EPA/DC badge that must be visible at all times in the building and returned upon departure.

2. Electronic access. You may access this Federal Register document electronically through the EPA Internet under the “Federal Register” listings at​fedrgstr.

II. Meeting Procedures

For additional information on the scheduled meeting, the agenda of the NAC/AEGL Committee, or the submission of information on chemicals to be discussed at the meeting, contact the DFO listed under FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT.

The meeting of the NAC/AEGL Committee will be open to the public. Oral presentations or statements by interested parties will be limited to 10 minutes. Interested parties are encouraged to contact the DFO to schedule presentations before the NAC/AEGL Committee. Since seating for outside observers may be limited, those wishing to attend the meeting as observers are also encouraged to contact the DFO at the earliest possible date to ensure adequate seating arrangements. Inquiries regarding oral presentations and the submission of written statements or chemical-specific information should be directed to the DFO.

III. Future Meetings

Another meeting of the NAC/AEGL Committee is scheduled for June 2007 and a future Federal Register notice will provide details of the meeting site, dates, and chemicals to be addressed. The following chemicals may be addressed at this June meeting: Allyltrichlorosilane, amyltrichlorosilane, butyltrichlorosilane, BZ (3-quinuclidinyl benzilate), chloromethyltrichlorosilane, chlorosulfonic acid, dichlorosilane, diphenyldichlorosilane, dodecyltrichlorosilane, fluorosulfonic acid, hexyltrichlorosilane, magnesium diamide, methanesulfonylchloride, nonyltrichlorosilane, octadecyltrichlorosilane, octyltrichlorosilane, osmium tetroxide, pentaborane, propyltrichlorosilane, silicon tetrachloride, trichloro(dichlorophenyl)silane, trichlorosilane, and vinyltrichlorosilane.

Start List of Subjects

List of Subjects

End List of Subjects Start Signature

Dated: January 29, 2007.

Charles M. Auer,

Director, Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. E7-1792 Filed 2-2-07; 8:45 am]