Skip to Content


Appointments to the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Government Accountability Office (GAO).


Notice of appointments.


The Balanced Budget Act of 1997 established the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC) and gave the Comptroller General responsibility for appointing its members. This notice announces the appointment of two new members and the reappointments of five existing members.

Start Printed Page 22930


Appointments are effective May 1, 2009.


GAO: 441 G Street, NW., Washington, DC 20548.

MedPAC: 601 New Jersey Avenue, NW., Suite 9000, Washington, DC 20001.

Start Further Info


GAO: Office of Public Affairs, (202) 512-4800.

MedPAC: Mark E. Mifier, PhD, (202) 220-3700.

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


To fill this year's vacancies I am announcing the following:

Newly appointed members are Robert A. Berenson, M.D., F.A.C.P., senior fellow at the Urban Institute, and Herb B. Kuhn, an independent health care consultant specializing in Medicare and Medicaid issues.

Reappointed members are Mitra Behroozi, J.D., executive director of 1199 SEIU Benefit and Pension Funds; Karen R. Borman, M.D., professor of surgery at the University of Central Florida College of Medicine; Ronald D. Castellanos, M.D., urologist at Southwest Florida Urologic Associates; Glenn M. Hackbarth, J.D., (chair); and Bruce Stuart, PhD, a professor and executive director of the Peter Lamy Center on Drug Therapy and Aging at the University of Maryland Baltimore.

(Sec. 4022, Pub. L. 105-33, 111 Stat. 251, 350)

Start Signature

Gene L. Dodardo,

Acting Comptroller General of the United States.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. E9-11403 Filed 5-14-09; 8:45 am]