Skip to Content


Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Enhanced Content

Relevant information about this document from provides additional context. This information is not part of the official Federal Register document.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.


Notice of open meeting.


This notice announces a meeting of the Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (BESAC). The Federal Advisory Committee Act (Pub. L. 92-463, 86 Stat. 770) requires that public notice of these meetings be announced in the Federal Register.


Thursday, February 23, 2012, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. and Friday, February 24, 2012, 9 a.m.-12 p.m.


Bethesda North Hotel and Conference Center, 5701 Marinelli Road, Bethesda, Maryland 20852.


Katie Perine; Office of Basic Energy Sciences; U.S. Department of Energy; Germantown Building, 1000 Independence Avenue SW., Washington, DC 20585; Telephone: (301) 903-6529.


Purpose of the Meeting: The purpose of this meeting is to provide advice and guidance with respect to the basic energy sciences research program.

Tentative Agenda: Agenda will include discussions of the following:

  • News from Office of Science/DOE.
  • News from the Office of Basic Energy Sciences.
  • Basic Research Directions for User Science at the National Ignition Facility.
  • Materials Sciences and Engineering Division Committee of Visitors.
  • Mesoscale Discussion.

Public Participation: The meeting is open to the public. If you would like to file a written statement with the Committee, you may do so either before or after the meeting. If you would like to make oral statements regarding any of the items on the agenda, you should contact Katie Perine by telephone at (301) 903-6594 (fax) or by email at: Reasonable provision will be made to include the scheduled oral statements on the agenda. The Chairperson of the Committee will conduct the meeting to facilitate the orderly conduct of business. Public comment will follow the 10-minute rule.

Minutes: The minutes of this meeting will be available by contacting Ms. Katie Perine at the address or by email listed above.

Issued in Washington, DC on January 27, 2012.

LaTanya R. Butler,

Acting Deputy Committee Management Officer.

[FR Doc. 2012-2315 Filed 2-1-12; 8:45 am]