Skip to Content


Appointments to the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Document Statistics
Document page views are updated periodically throughout the day and are cumulative counts for this document including its time on Public Inspection. Counts are subject to sampling, reprocessing and revision (up or down) throughout the day.
Enhanced Content

Relevant information about this document from provides additional context. This information is not part of the official Federal Register document.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.


Notice of appointments.


The Balanced Budget Act of 1997 established the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC) and gave the Comptroller General responsibility for appointing its members. This notice announces the appointment of five new members and the reappointment of one existing member.


Appointments are effective May 1, 2012.


GAO: 441 G Street NW., Washington, DC 20548.

MedPAC: 601 New Jersey Avenue NW., Suite 9000, Washington, DC 20001.


GAO: Office of Public Affairs, (202) 512-4800.

MedPAC: Mark E. Miller, Ph.D., (202) 220-3700.


To fill this year's vacancies I am announcing the following:

Newly appointed members are Alice Coombs, MD, Critical Care Specialist and Anesthesiologist, South Shore Hospital; Jack Hoadley, Ph.D., Research Professor, Health Policy Institute, Georgetown University; David Nerenz, Ph.D., Director of the Center for Health Policy and Health Services Research, Henry Ford Health System; Rita Redberg, MD, Professor, Clinical Medicine, University of California at San Francisco Medical Center; and Craig Samitt, MD, President and Chief Executive Officer, Dean Health System, Inc.. Their terms will expire in April 2015. The reappointed member is Glenn M. Hackbarth, J.D., (chair).

(Sec. 4022, Pub. L. 105-33, 111 Stat. 251, 350)

Gene L. Dodaro,

Comptroller General of the United States.

[FR Doc. 2012-17643 Filed 7-19-12; 8:45 am]