Skip to Content


Solicitation of Nominations for Members of the USDA Grain Inspection Advisory Committee

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Document Statistics
Document page views are updated periodically throughout the day and are cumulative counts for this document including its time on Public Inspection. Counts are subject to sampling, reprocessing and revision (up or down) throughout the day.
Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration, USDA.


Notice to solicit nominees.


The Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration (GIPSA) is seeking nominations for individuals to serve on the USDA Grain Inspection Advisory Committee (Advisory Committee). The Advisory Committee meets annually to advise GIPSA on the programs and services it delivers under the U.S. Grain Standards Act (USGSA). Recommendations by the Advisory Committee help GIPSA better meet the needs of its customers who operate in a dynamic and changing marketplace.


GIPSA will consider nominations received by January 24, 2014.


Submit nominations for the Advisory Committee by completing form AD-755 and mail to:

  • Terri L. Henry, U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Ave. SW., Mail Stop 3611, Washington, DC 20250-3611, or
  • FAX: 202-690-2173

Form AD-755 may be obtained via USDA's Web site:​forms/​doc/​AD-755.pdf.

Start Further Info


Terri L. Henry, telephone (202) 205-8281 or email

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


As required by section 21 of the USGSA (7 U.S.C. 87j), as amended, the Secretary of Agriculture (Secretary) established the Advisory Committee on September 29, 1981, to provide advice to the GIPSA Administrator on implementation of the USGSA. The current authority for the Advisory Committee expires on September 30, 2015. As specified in the USGSA, each member's term is 3 years and no member may serve successive terms.

The Advisory Committee consists of 15 members, appointed by the Secretary, who represent the interests of grain producers, processors, handlers, merchandisers, consumers, exporters, and scientists with expertise in research related to the policies in section 2 of the USGSA (7 U.S.C. 74). While members of the Advisory Committee serve without Start Printed Page 74103compensation, USDA reimburses them for travel expenses, including per diem in lieu of subsistence, for travel away from their homes or regular places of business in performance of Advisory Committee service (see 5 U.S.C. 5703).

A list of current Advisory Committee members and other relevant information are available on the GIPSA Web site at​fgis/​adcommit.html.

GIPSA is seeking nominations for individuals to serve on the Advisory Committee to replace seven members whose terms will expire May 2014.

Nominations are open to all individuals without regard to race, color, religion, gender, national origin, age, mental or physical disability, marital status, or sexual orientation. To ensure that recommendations of the Advisory Committee take into account the needs of the diverse groups served by the USDA, membership shall include, to the extent practicable, individuals with demonstrated ability to represent minorities, women, and persons with disabilities.

The final selection of Advisory Committee members and alternates is made by the Secretary.

Start Signature

Larry Mitchell,

Administrator, Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 2013-29348 Filed 12-9-13; 8:45 am]