Skip to Content


Appalachian Regional Commission

The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) is a regional economic development agency that represents a partnership of federal, state, and local government. Established by an act of Congress in 1965, ARC is composed of the governors of the 13 Appalachian states and a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president. Local participation is provided through multi-county local development districts.

ARC funds projects that address the four goals identified in the Commission's strategic plan:

(1) Increase job opportunities and per capita income in Appalachia to reach parity with the nation.
(2) Strengthen the capacity of the people of Appalachia to compete in the global economy.
(3) Develop and improve Appalachia's infrastructure to make the Region economically competitive.
(4) Build the Appalachian Development Highway System to reduce Appalachia's isolation.

Each year ARC provides funding for several hundred projects in the Appalachian Region, in areas such as business development, education and job training, telecommunications, infrastructure, community development, housing, and transportation. These projects create thousands of new jobs; improve local water and sewer systems; increase school readiness; expand access to health care; assist local communities with strategic planning; and provide technical and managerial assistance to emerging businesses.

Agency URL:

Listing ofRecently Published Documents

Showing 1-3 of 3 results since 1994.