Skip to Content


Nuclear Regulatory Commission

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission licenses and regulates civilian use of nuclear energy to protect public health and safety and the environment.

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) was established as an independent regulatory agency under the provisions of the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974 (42 U.S.C. 5801 et seq.) and Executive Order 11834 of January 15, 1975. All licensing and related regulatory functions formerly assigned to the Atomic Energy Commission were transferred to the Commission.

The Commission's major program components are the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation, the Office of New Reactors, the Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards, the Office of Federal and State Materials and Environmental Management Programs, and the Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research. Headquarters offices are located in suburban Maryland, and there are four regional offices.

The Commission ensures that the civilian uses of nuclear materials and facilities are conducted in a manner consistent with the public health and safety, environmental quality, national security, and the antitrust laws. Most of the Commission's effort is focused on regulating the use of nuclear energy to generate electric power.

Pending PublicationDocuments on Public Inspection

Showing 1-9 of 9 results since 1994.

Listing ofSignificant Documents

Showing 1-5 of 164 results since 1994. View 159 more results.

Listing ofRecently Published Documents

Showing 1-10 of 19009 results since 1994. View 18999 more results.