Skip to Content

Request of Recommendations for Membership for Directorate and Office Advisory Committees




The National Science Foundation (NSF) requests recommendations for membership for its scientific and technical Federal advisory committees. Recommendations should consist of the submitting person or organization's name and affiliation, the name of the recommended individual, the recommended individual's curriculum vita (2-5 pages), an expression of the individual's interest in serving, and the following recommended individual's contact information: employment address, telephone number, Fax number, and email address. Self recommendations are accepted. If you would like to make a recommendation for membership on any of our committees, please send your recommendation to the committee contact person listed below.


Table of Contents Back to Top

ADDRESSES: Back to Top

The mailing address for the National Science Foundation is 4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22230.

Web links to individual committee information may be found on NSF Web site: NSF Advisory Committees.


Each Directorate and Office has an external advisory committee that typically meets twice a year to review and provide advice on program management, discuss current issues and review and provide advice on the impact of policies, programs, and activities in the disciplines and fields encompassed by the Directorate or Office. In addition to Directorate and Office advisory committees, NSF has several committees that provide advice and recommendation on specific topics: astronomy and astrophysics; environmental research and education; equal opportunities in science and engineering; performance assessment; and business and operations.

A primary consideration when formulating committee membership is recognized knowledge, expertise, or demonstrated ability [1] . Other factors that may be considered are balance among diverse institutions, regions, and groups underrepresented in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. Committee members serve for varying term lengths, depending on the nature of the individual committee. Although we welcome the recommendations we receive, we regret that NSF will not be able to acknowledge or respond positively to each person who contacts NSF or has been recommended. NSF intends to publish a similar notice to this on an annual basis. NSF will keep recommendations active for 12 months from the date of receipt.

The chart below is a listing of the committees seeking recommendations for membership. Recommendations should be sent to the contact person identified below. The chart contains web addresses where additional information about individual committees is available.

Advisory committee Contact person
Advisory Committee for Biological Sciences Charles Liarakos, Directorate for Biological Sciences; phone: (703)292-8400; e-mail:; fax: (703)292-9154.
Advisory Committee for Computer and Information Science and Engineering Carmen Whitson, Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering; phone: (703)292-8900; e-mail:; fax: (703) 292-9074.
Advisory Committee for Cyberinfrastructure Marc Rigas, Office of Cyberinfrastructure; phone: (703) 292-8970;; fax: (703) 292-9060.
Advisory Committee for Education and Human Resources James Colby, Directorate for Education and Human Resources; phone: (703) 292-8600; e-mail:; fax: (703) 292-9179.
Advisory Committee for Engineering Shirah Pope, Directorate for Engineering; phone: (703) 292-8300; e-mail:; fax: (703) 292-9013.
Advisory Committee for Geosciences Melissa Lane, Directorate for Geosciences: phone: (703) 292-8500; e-mail:; fax: (703) 292-9042.
Advisory Committee for International Science and Engineering Robert Webber, Office of International Science and Engineering; phone: (703) 292-7569; e-mail:; fax: (703) 292-9067.
Advisory Committee for Mathematical and Physical Sciences Morris Aizenman, Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences; phone: (703) 292-8807; e-mail:; fax: (703) 292-9151.
Advisory Committee for Social, Behavioral & Economic Sciences Lisa Jones, Social, Behavioral & Economic Sciences; phone: (703) 292-8700; E-Mail:; fax: (703) 292-9083.
Advisory Committee for Polar Programs Kelly Falkner, Office of Polar Programs; phone: (703) 292-8030; e-mail:; Fax: (703) 292-9081.
Committee on Equal Opportunities in Science and Engineering Kelly Mack, Division of Human Resource Development; phone: 703/292-8640; e-mail:; fax: (703) 292-9018.
Advisory Committee for Environmental Research and Education Elizabeth Zelenski, Directorate for Geosciences; phone: (703) 292-8500; e-mail:; fax: (703) 292-9042.
Advisory Committee for Business and Operations Jeffrey Rich, Office of Information and Resource Management; phone: (703)292-8100; e-mail:; (703) 292-9084.
Astronomy and Astrophysics Advisory Committee Elizabeth Pentecost, Division of Astronomical Sciences; phone: (703) 292-4907; e-mail:; fax: (703) 292-9034.

Dated: March 16, 2012.

Susanne Bolton,

Committee Management Officer.

[FR Doc. 2012-6859 Filed 3-21-12; 8:45 am]


Footnotes Back to Top

1. Federally registered lobbyists are not eligible for appointment to these Federal advisory committees.

Back to Context
Site Feedback