Skip to Content


Interim National Drought Council

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble Start Printed Page 15827


Farm Service Agency, USDA.


Notice of interim national drought council meeting.


The Interim National Drought Council (Interim Council) was established through a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU). The Interim Council's purpose is to coordinate activities between and among Federal Agencies, States, local governments, tribes and others. All meetings are open to the public; however, seating is limited and available on a first-come basis.


The Interim Council will meet on April 5, 2001, from 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. in the Williamsburg Room of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Jamie L. Whitten Building, 12th and Jefferson Drive, SW, Washington, DC. All times noted are Eastern Daylight Time. The primary focus of this meeting will be to discuss actions and reports of the subcommittees and other Interim Council business.

Start Further Info


Leona Dittus, Executive Director, Interim National Drought Council, United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 6701-S, STOP 0501, Washington, DC, 20250-0501 or telephone (202) 720-3168; FAX (202) 720-9688; internet

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


The purpose of the MOU is to establish a more comprehensive, integrated, coordinated approach toward reducing the impacts of drought through better preparedness, monitoring and prediction, risk management, and response to drought emergencies in the United States. The Interim Council will encourage cooperation and coordination between and among Federal, State, local, and tribal governments and others, relative to preparation for and response to serious drought emergencies. Activities of the Interim Council include providing coordination to: (a) Resolve drought related issues, (b) exchange information about lessons learned, and (c) improve public awareness of the need for drought planning and mitigation measures. The Interim Council is co-chaired by the Secretary of Agriculture or her designee, and a non-federal co-chair, Ms. Ane D. Deister, Executive Assistant to the General Manager, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California, representing urban water interests. Administrative staff support essential to the execution of the Interim Council's responsibilities shall be provided by USDA. The Interim Council will continue in effect for 5 years or until Congress establishes a permanent National Drought Council.

If special accommodations are required, please contact Leona Dittus, at the address specified above, by COB March 30, 2001.

Start Signature

Signed at Washington, D.C., on March 15, 2001.

James R. Little,

Acting Administrator, Farm Service Agency.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 01-6935 Filed 3-20-01; 8:45 am]