Skip to Content


Designation of Countries of Particular Concern Under the International Religious Freedom Act

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble

Pursuant to section 408(a) of the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998, notice is hereby given that the Secretary of State, under authority delegated by the President, has re-designated the following countries as “countries of particular concern” under section 402(b) of the Act for having engaged in or tolerated particularly severe violations of religious freedom: Burma, China, Iran, Iraq, Sudan.

Start Signature

Dated: April 16, 2001.

Thomas F. Farr,

Office Director for International Religious Freedom, Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor U.S. Department of State.

End Signature End Preamble

[FR Doc. 01-10833 Filed 4-30-01; 8:45 am]