Skip to Content


Bureau of Consular Affairs; Designation of Certain Posts for Special Fee Payment Procedures

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble

This public notice identifies additional posts designated by the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Visa Services for two purposes related to the payment of immigrant visa fees. The first purpose relates to the revised procedure for payment of the fee for the processing of the application for an immigrant visa set forth in the Federal Register on September 8, 2000, (65 FR 54598). The effective date of that notice was stayed until January 1, 2001 by a public notice in the Federal Register of December 14, 2000, (65 FR 78243).

The second purpose is to identify the posts for which a fee pursuant to Item 61 of the Schedule of Fees for Consular Services (22 CFR 22.1) will be assessed for advance review of and assistance with the Affidavit of Support that is required in certain immigrant visa cases. Notice of this fee requirement was added to the visa regulation pertaining Start Printed Page 49996to the Affidavit of Support requirement in 22 CFR 40.41(b), and was effective January 1, 2001.

The Department will publish further public notices as additional designations are made.

The Deputy Assistant Secretary for Visa Services hereby designates the Foreign Service posts in the following cities for participation in the new immigrant visa application processing fee payment system and the fee for review of and assistance with the Affidavit of Support required under section 213A of the Immigration and Nationality Act The effective date of this notice is October 1, 2001.

Abidjan, Cote D'Ivoire

Accra, Ghana

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Algiers, Algeria

Antananarivo, Madagascar

Cairo, Egypt

Cotonou, Benin

Casablanca, Morocco

Dakar, Senegal

Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania

Djibouti, Djibouti

Harare, Zimbabwe

Johannesburg, South Africa

Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo

Lagos, Nigeria

Libreville, Gabon

Lilongwe, Malawi

Lome, Togo

Lusaka, Zambia

Monrovia, Liberia

Nairobi, Kenya

Niamey, Niger

Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

Praia, Cape Verde Islands

Tunis, Tunisia

Yaounde, Cameroon

Start Signature

Dated: September 4, 2001.

Wayne G. Griffith,

Deputy Assistant Secretary for Visa Services, U.S. Department of State.

End Signature End Preamble

[FR Doc. 01-24490 Filed 9-28-01; 8:45 am]