Skip to Content


2002 Clean Air Excellence Awards Program

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Document Statistics
Document page views are updated periodically throughout the day and are cumulative counts for this document including its time on Public Inspection. Counts are subject to sampling, reprocessing and revision (up or down) throughout the day.
Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).




The Environmental Protection Agency established the Clean Air Excellence Awards Program in February 2000. This is an annual awards program to recognize outstanding and innovative efforts that support progress in achieving clean air. This notice announces the competition for the Year 2002 program.

Awards Program Notice: Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 7403(a)(1) and (2) and sections 103(a)(1) and (2) of the Clean Air Act (CAA), notice is hereby given that the EPA's Office of Air and Radiation (OAR) announces the opening of competition for the Year 2002 “Clean Air Excellence Awards Program” (CAEAP). The intent of the program is to recognize and honor outstanding, innovative efforts that help to make progress in achieving cleaner air. The CAEAP is open to both public and private entities. Entries are limited to the United States. There are six award categories: (1) Clean Air Technology; (2) Community Development/Redevelopment; (3) Education/Outreach; (4) Regulatory/Policy Innovations; (5) Transportation Efficiency Innovations; and (6) Outstanding Individual Achievement Award. Awards are recognition only and are given on an annual basis.

Entry Requirements and Deadline: All applicants are asked to submit their entry on a CAEAP entry form, contained in the CAEAP Entry Package, which may be obtained from the Clean Air Act Advisory Committee (CAAAC) web site at​oar/​caaac and click on Awards Program or by contacting Mr. Paul Rasmussen, U.S. EPA at 202-564-1306 or 202-564-1352 (Fax), mailing address: Office of Air and Radiation (6102A), 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW., Washington, DC 20004. The entry form is a simple, three-part form asking for general information on the applicant and the proposed entry; asking for a description of why the entry is deserving of an award; and requiring Start Printed Page 54182information from three (3) independent references for the proposed entry. Applicants should also submit additional supporting documentation as necessary. Specific directions and information on filing an entry form are included in the Entry Package available through the directions above. The deadline for all submission of entries is September 19, 2002.

Judging and Award Criteria: Judging will be accomplished through a screening process conducted by EPA staff, with input from outside subject experts, as needed. A workgroup of the CAAAC will provide advice to EPA on the entries. The final award decision will be made by the EPA Assistant Administrator for Air and Radiation. Entries will be judged using both general criteria and criteria specific to each individual category. There are four (4) general criteria: (1) The entry directly or indirectly (i.e., by encouraging actions) reduces emissions of criteria pollutants or hazardous/toxic air pollutants; (2) The entry demonstrates innovation and uniqueness; (3) The entry provides a model for others to follow (i.e., it is replicable); and (4) The positive outcomes from the entry are continuing/sustainable. Although not required to win an award, the following general criteria will also be considered in the judging process: (1) The entry has positive effects on other environmental media in addition to air; (2) The entry demonstrates effective collaboration and partnerships; and (3) The individual or organization submitting the entry has effectively measured/evaluated the outcomes of the project, program, technology, etc. As mentioned above, additional criteria will be used for each individual award category. These criteria are listed in the 2002 Entry Package.

Start Further Info


For further information concerning this new awards program please use the CAAAC Web site cited above or contact Paul Rasmussen at the telephone and address cited above.

Start Signature

Dated: August 8, 2002.

Robert Brenner,

Principal Deputy Assistant Administrator for Air and Radiation.

End Signature End Further Info End Preamble

[FR Doc. 02-21289 Filed 8-20-02; 8:45 am]