Skip to Content


Opportunity for Designation in the Kansas, Minot (ND), and Tri-State (OH) Areas, and Request for Comments on the Official Agencies Serving These Areas

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Document Statistics
Document page views are updated periodically throughout the day and are cumulative counts for this document including its time on Public Inspection. Counts are subject to sampling, reprocessing and revision (up or down) throughout the day.
Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration, USDA.




The designations of the official agencies listed below will end in June 2003. Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration (GIPSA) is asking persons interested in providing official services in the areas served by these agencies to submit an application for designation. GIPSA is also asking for comments on the services provided by these currently designated agencies: Kansas Grain Inspection Service, Inc., (Kansas); Minot Grain Inspection, Inc., (Minot); and Tri-State Grain Inspection Service, Inc., (Tri-State).


Applications and comments must be postmarked or electronically dated or before January 2, 2003.


Submit applications and comments to USDA, GIPSA, Janet M. Hart, Chief, Review Branch, Compliance Division, STOP 3604, Room 1647-S, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW., Start Printed Page 70398Washington, DC 20250-3604; FAX 202-690-2755. If an application is submitted by FAX, GIPSA reserves the right to request an original application. All applications and comments will be made available for public inspection at Room 1647-S, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW., during regular business hours.

Start Further Info


Janet M. Hart at 202-720-8525, e-mail

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


This Action has been reviewed and determined not to be a rule or regulation as defined in Executive Order 12866 and Departmental Regulation 1512-1; therefore, the Executive Order and Departmental Regulation do not apply to this Action.

Section 7(f)(1) of the United States Grain Standards Act, as amended (Act), authorizes GIPSA's Administrator to designate a qualified applicant to provide official services in a specified area after determining that the applicant is better able than any other applicant to provide such official services.

Section 7(g)(1) of the Act provides that designations of official agencies shall end not later than triennially and may be renewed according to the criteria and procedures prescribed in Section 7(f) of the Act.

1. Current Designations Being Announced for Renewal

Official agencyMain officeDesignation startDesignation end
KansasTopeka, KS07/01/200006/30/2003
MinotMinot, ND07/01/200006/30/2003
Tri-StateCincinnati, OH07/01/200006/30/2003

a. Pursuant to Section 7(f)(2) of the Act, the following geographic area, in the States of Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, and Wyoming, is assigned to Kansas.

The entire State of Colorado.

The entire State of Kansas.

In Nebraska:

Bounded on the North by the northern Scotts Bluff County line; the northern Morrill County line east to Highway 385;

Bounded on the East by Highway 385 south to the northern Cheyenne County line; the northern and eastern Cheyenne County lines; the northern and eastern Deuel County lines;

Bounded on the South by the southern Deuel, Cheyenne, and Kimball County lines; and

Bounded on the West by the western Kimball, Banner, and Scotts Bluff County lines.

Goshen, Laramie, and Platt Counties, Wyoming.

Kansas' assigned geographic area does not include the following grain elevators inside Kansas' area which have been and will ontinue to be serviced by the following official agency: Hastings Grain Inspection, Inc.: Farmers Coop, and Big Springs Elevator, both in Big Springs, Deuel County, Nebraska.

b. Pursuant to Section 7(f)(2) of the Act, the following geographic area, in the State of North Dakota, is assigned to Minot.

Bounded on the North by the North Dakota State line east to State Route 14;

Bounded on the East by State Route 14 south to State Route 5; State Route 5 east to State Route 60; State Route 60 southeast to State Route 3; State Route 3 south to State Route 200;

Bounded on the South by State Route 200 west to State Route 41; State Route 41 south to U.S. Route 83; U.S. Route 83 northwest to State Route 200; State Route 200 west to U.S. Route 85; U.S. Route 85 south to Interstate 94; Interstate 94 west to the North Dakota State line; and

Bounded on the West by the North Dakota State line.

The following grain elevators, located outside of the above contiguous geographic area, are part of this geographic area assignment: Harvey Farmers Elevator, Harvey, Wells County (located inside Grand Forks Grain Inspection Department, Inc.'s, area); and Benson Quinn Company, Underwood, and Falkirk Farmers Elevator, Washburn, both in McLean County (located inside Grain Inspection, Inc.'s, area).

c. Pursuant to Section 7(f)(2) of the Act, the following geographic area, in the States of Indiana, Kentucky, and Ohio, is assigned to Tri-State.

Dearborn, Decatur, Franklin, Ohio, Ripley, Rush (south of State Route 244), and Switzerland Counties, Indiana.

Bath, Boone, Bourbon, Bracken, Campbell, Clark, Fleming, Gallatin, Grant, Harrison, Kenton, Lewis (west of State Route 59), Mason, Montgomery, Nicholas, Owen, Pendleton, and Robertson Counties, Kentucky.

In Ohio:

Bounded on the North by the northern Preble County line east; the western and northern Miami County lines east to State Route 296; State Route 296 east to State Route 560; State Route 560 south to the Clark County line; the northern Clark County line east to U.S. Route 68;

Bounded on the East by U.S. Route 68 south to U.S. Route 22; U.S. Route 22 east to State Route 73; State Route 73 southeast to the Adams County line; the eastern Adams County line;

Bounded on the South by the southern Adams, Brown, Clermont, and Hamilton County lines; and

Bounded on the West by the western Hamilton, Butler, and Preble County lines.

2. Opportunity for Designation

Interested persons, including Kansas, Minot, and Tri-State, are hereby given the opportunity to apply for designation to provide official services in the geographic areas specified above under the provisions of Section 7(f) of the Act and section 800.196(d) of the regulations issued thereunder. Designation in the specified geographic areas is for the period beginning July 1, 2003, and ending June 30, 2006. Persons wishing to apply for designation should contact the Compliance Division at the address listed above for forms and information, or obtain applications at the GIPSA Web site,​gipsa/​oversight/​parovreg.htm.

3. Request for Comments

GIPSA also is publishing this notice to provide interested persons the opportunity to present comments on the Kansas, Minot, and Tri-State official agencies. Commenters are encouraged to submit pertinent data concerning these official agencies including information on the timeliness, cost, quality, and scope of services provided. All comments must be submitted to the Compliance Division at the above address.

Applications, comments, and other available information will be considered in determining which applicant will be designated.

Start Authority

Authority: Pub. L. 94-582, 90 Stat. 2867, as amended (7 U.S.C. 71 et seq.).

End Authority Start Signature
Start Printed Page 70399

Dated: November 13, 2002.

Donna Reifschneider,

Administrator, Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 02-29757 Filed 11-21-02; 8:45 am]