Skip to Content


Notice of Certification of State Telecommunications Relay Service (TRS) Programs

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Federal Communications Commission.




The purpose of this document is to notify state Telecommunications Relay Service (TRS) programs that certification of their program has been granted through July 26, 2008. Notice is hereby given that the applications for certification of state Telecommunications Relay Services (TRS) programs of the states listed below have been granted, subject to the condition described below, pursuant to Title IV of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), 47 U.S.C. 225(f)(2), and section 64.605(b) of the Commission's rules, 47 CFR 64.605(b). The Commission will provide further Public Notice of the certification of the remaining applications for certification once final review of those states' applications has been completed. On the basis of the state applications, the Commission has determined that: the TRS program of the states meet or exceed all operational, technical, and functional minimum standards contained in section 64.604 of the Commission's rules, 47 CFR 64.604; the TRS programs of the listed states make available adequate procedures and remedies for enforcing the requirements of the state program; and the TRS programs of the listed states in no way conflict with federal law.


This certification shall remain in effect for a five year period, beginning July 26, 2003, and ending July 25, 2008, pursuant to 47 CFR 64.605(c).


Federal Communications Commission, 445 12th Street, SW., Washington, DC 20554.

Start Further Info


Erica Myers, (202) 418-2429 (voice), (202) 418-0464 (TTY), or e-mail

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


This is a summary of the Commission's Public Notice, DA 03-2332, CC Docket No. CC 98-67, released July 16, 2003. Copies of applications for certification are available for public inspection and copying during regular business hours at the FCC Reference Information Center, Portals II, 445 12th Street, SW., Room CY-A257, Washington, DC 20554. The applications for certification are also available on the Commission's web Start Printed Page 44083site at​cgb/​dro/​trs_​by_​state.html. They may also be purchased from the Commission's duplicating contractor, Qualex International, Portals II, 445 12th Street, SW., Room CY-B402, Washington, DC 20554, telephone (202) 863-2893, facsimile (202) 863-2898, or via e-mail

To request materials in accessible formats for people with disabilities (Braille, large print, electronic files, audio format), send an e-mail to or call Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau, at (202) 418-0531 (voice), (202) 418-7365 (TTY). This Public Notice can also be downloaded in Text and ASCII formats at:​cgb/​dro.

Synopsis: The Commission also has determined that, where applicable, the intrastate funding mechanisms of the listed states are labeled in a manner that promotes national understanding of TRS and does not offend the public, consistent with section 64.605(d) of the Commission's rules, 47 CFR 64.605(d).

Because the Commission may adopt changes to the rules governing relay programs, including state relay programs, the certification granted herein is conditioned on a demonstration of compliance with the new rules adopted and any additional new rules that are adopted by the Commission. The Commission will provide guidance to the states on demonstrating compliance with such rule changes.

This certification, as conditioned herein, shall remain in effect for a five year period, beginning July 26, 2003, and ending July 25, 2008, pursuant to 47 CFR 64.605(c). One year prior to the expiration of this certification, July 25, 2007, the states may apply for renewal of their TRS program certification by filing demonstration in accordance with the Commission's rules, pursuant to 47 CFR sections 64.605(a) and (b).

Second Group of States Approved for Certification

File No: TRS-51-02, Georgia Public Utilities Commission, State of Georgia

File No: TRS-07-02, Kansas Corporation Commission, State of Kansas

File No: TRS-45-02, New Jersey Board of Utilities, State of New Jersey

File No: TRS-11-02, South Carolina Budget & Control Board, State of South Carolina

File No: TRS-22-02, Hawaii Public Utilities Commission, State of Hawaii

File No: TRS-34-02, Department of Public Utilities, State of Massachusetts

File No: TRS-59-02, Division of Public Utilities and Carriers, State of Rhode Island

Start Signature

Federal Communications Commission.

Margaret M. Egler,

Deputy Chief, Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 03-18972 Filed 7-24-03; 8:45 am]