Skip to Content


National Advisory Committee for Acute Exposure Guideline Levels for Hazardous Substances; Notice of Public Meeting

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).




A meeting of the National Advisory Committee for Acute Exposure Guideline Levels for Hazardous Substances (NAC/AEGL Committee) will be held from December 12, 2006-December 14, 2006, in Alexandria, VA. At this meeting, the NAC/AEGL Committee will address, as time permits, the various aspects of the acute toxicity and the development of AEGLs for the following chemicals: Allyl alcohol, carbon disulfide, carbonyl fluoride, ethyl benzene, mercury vapor, methacrylaldehyde, methyl vinyl ketone, N, N-dimethylformamide, oxygen difluoride, phosphorus trichloride, propargyl alcohol, selenium hexafluoride, stibine, sulfur dioxide, and thionyl chloride. In addition, proposed AEGL chemicals listed for public comment in the October 12, 2006 Federal Register (71 FR 60141-60143) (FRL-8095-1) will be considered for elevation from Proposed to Interim AEGL chemicals.


A meeting of the NAC/AEGL Committee will be held from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. on December 12, 2006, from 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. on December 13, 2006, and from 8 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. on December 14, 2006.


The meeting will be held at the Hilton Alexandria Old Town, 1767 King St., Alexandria, VA (King St. Metro stop).

Start Further Info


For general information contact: Colby Lintner, Regulatory Coordinator, Environmental Assistance Division (7408M), Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics, Environmental Protection Agency, 1200 Pennsylvania Ave., NW., Washington, DC 20460-0001; telephone number: (202) 554-1404; e-mail address:

For technical information contact: Paul S. Tobin, Designated Federal Officer (DFO), Economics, Exposure, and Technology Division (7406M), Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics, 1200 Pennsylvania Ave., NW., Washington, DC 20460-0001; telephone number: (202) 564-8557; e-mail address:

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


I. General Information

A. Does this Action Apply to Me?

This action is directed to the public in general. This action may be of particular interest to anyone who may be affected if the AEGL values are adopted by government agencies for emergency planning, prevention, or response programs, such as EPA's Risk Management Program under the Clean Air Act and Amendments Section 112r. It is possible that other Federal agencies besides EPA, as well as State agencies and private organizations, may adopt the AEGL values for their programs. As such, the Agency has not attempted to describe all the specific entities that may be affected by this action. If you have any questions regarding the applicability of this action to a particular entity, consult the DFO listed under FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT.

B. How Can I Get Copies of this Document and Other Related Information?

1. Docket. EPA has established a docket for this action under docket identification (ID) number EPA-HQ-OPPT-2006-0870. Publicly available docket materials are available electronically at, or, if only available in hard copy, at the OPPT Docket in the EPA Docket Center (EPA/DC). The EPA/DC suffered structural damage due to flooding in June 2006. Although the EPA/DC is continuing operations, there will be temporary changes to the EPA/DC during the clean-up. The EPA/DC Public Reading Room, which was temporarily closed due to flooding, has been relocated in the EPA Headquarters Library, Infoterra Room (Room Number 3334) in EPA West, located at 1301 Constitution Ave., NW., Washington, DC. The EPA/DC Public Reading Room is open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding legal holidays. The telephone number of the EPA/DC Public Reading Room is (202) 566-1744, and the telephone number for the OPPT Docket is (202) 566-0280. EPA visitors are required to show photographic identification and sign the EPA visitor log. Visitors to the EPA/DC Public Reading Room will be provided with an EPA/DC badge that must be visible at all times while in the EPA Building and returned to the guard upon departure. In addition, security personnel will escort visitors to and from the new EPA/DC Public Reading Room location. Up-to-date information about the EPA/DC is on the EPA website at​epahome/​dockets.htm.

2. Electronic access. You may access this Federal Register document electronically through the EPA Internet under the “Federal Register” listings at​fedrgstr.

II. Meeting Procedures

For additional information on the scheduled meeting, the agenda of the NAC/AEGL Committee, or the submission of information on chemicals to be discussed at the meeting, contact the DFO listed under FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT.

The meeting of the NAC/AEGL Committee will be open to the public. Oral presentations or statements by interested parties will be limited to 10 minutes. Interested parties are encouraged to contact the DFO to schedule presentations before the NAC/AEGL Committee. Since seating for outside observers may be limited, those wishing to attend the meeting as observers are also encouraged to contact the DFO at the earliest possible date to ensure adequate seating arrangements. Inquiries regarding oral presentations and the submission of written statements or chemical-specific information should be directed to the DFO.

III. Future Meetings

Another meeting of the NAC/AEGL Committee is scheduled for March 2007. In order to provide some advance notice of future chemicals for AEGL development, this notice provides names of those chemicals that at the present time are most likely to be addressed, although these priorities may change before the March 2007 meeting date. A subsequent Federal Register notice for that meeting will provide the final list of chemicals for AEGL development to be included in that future meeting. The chemicals are as follows: Allyl chloride; boron tribromide; bromine chloride; diketene; ethylene fluorohydrin; osmium tetroxide; pentaborane; silicon tetrachloride; silicon tetrafluoride; tetrachloroethylene; 1,1,1-trichloroethane; and toluene.

Start List of Subjects Start Printed Page 66328

List of Subjects

End List of Subjects Start Signature

Dated: November 3, 2006.

Charles M. Auer,

Director, Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. E6-19166 Filed 11-13-06; 8:45 am]