Skip to Content


U.S. EPA's National Clean Water Act Recognition Awards Presentation During the Water Environment Federation's Technical Exposition and Conference (WEFTEC), and Announcement of 2006 National Awards Winners

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).




The Environmental Protection Agency recognized municipalities and industries for outstanding and innovative technological achievements in wastewater treatment and pollution abatement programs. An inscribed plaque was presented to first and second place national winners at the annual Clean Water Act Recognition Awards presentation during the Water Environment Federation's Technical Exposition and Conference (WEFTEC). Recognition is made every year for outstanding programs and projects in operations and maintenance at wastewater treatment facilities, biosolids management and public acceptance, municipal implementation and enforcement of local pretreatment programs, cost-effective storm water controls, and combined sewer overflow controls. This action also announces the 2006 national awards winners.


Monday, October 23, 2006, 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.


The national awards presentation ceremony was held at the Dallas Convention Center, 650 S. Griffin Street, Dallas, Texas.

Start Further Info


Maria E. Campbell, Telephone: (202) 564-0628. Facsimile Number: (202) 501-2396. E-Mail: Also visit the Office of Wastewater Management's webpage at​owm.

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


The Clean Water Act Recognition Awards are authorized by section 501(a) and (e) of the Clean Water Act, and 33 U.S.C. 1361(a) and (e). Applications and nominations for the national awards are recommended by EPA regions. A regulation establishes a framework for the annual recognition awards program at 40 CFR part 105. EPA announced the availability of application and nomination information for this year's awards (71 FR 23919, April 25, 2006). The awards program enhances national awareness of municipal wastewater treatment and encourages public Start Printed Page 67578support of programs targeted to protecting the public's health and safety and the nation's water quality. State water pollution control agencies and EPA regional offices make recommendations to headquarters for the national awards. Programs and projects being recognized are in compliance with applicable water quality requirements and have a satisfactory record with respect to environmental quality. Municipalities and industries are recognized for their demonstrated creativity and technological achievements in five awards categories as follows:

(1) Outstanding Operations and Maintenance practices at wastewater treatment facilities;

(2) Exemplary Biosolids Management projects, technology/innovation or development activities, research and public acceptance efforts;

(3) Pretreatment Program Excellence;

(4) Storm Water Management Excellence; and,

(5) Outstanding Combined Sewer Overflow Control programs. The winners of the EPA's 2006 National Clean Water Act Recognition Awards are listed below by category.

Category: Operations and Maintenance Awards
First Place:
Clean Water Services, Rock Creek Advanced Wastewater Treatment Facility, Hillsboro, ORLarge Advanced Plant.
Watertown Wastewater Treatment Facility, Watertown, SDMedium Advanced Plant.
Town of Castleton Wastewater Treatment Facility, Castleton, VTSmall Advanced Plant.
Franklin Wastewater Treatment Facility, Winnipesaukee River Basin Program, Franklin, NHLarge Secondary Plant.
Huron Wastewater Treatment Facility, Huron, SDMedium Secondary Plant.
Town of Wanatah Wastewater Treatment Facility, Wanatah, INSmall Secondary Plant.
Sturgis Wastewater Treatment Facility, Sturgis, SDLarge Non-Discharging Plant.
Warner Village Water District, Warner, NHMost Improved Plant.
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services, Wastewater Engineering Bureau/Operations Section, Concord, New HampshireTrainer for the Most Improved Plant.
Second Place:
Littleton/Englewood Wastewater Treatment Facility, Englewood, COLarge Advanced Plant.
The Pequannock Lincoln Park & Fairfield Sewerage Authority Wastewater Treatment Plant, Lincoln Park, NJMedium Advanced Plant.
Hurlburt Field Wastewater Treatment Facility, Hurlburt Field Air Force Base, Okaloosa County, FLSmall Advanced Plant.
Northern Water Pollution Control Facility—Ocean County Utilities Authority, Brick Township, NJLarge Secondary Plant.
Portage Lake Water and Sewage Authority, Houghton-Hancock Wastewater Treatment Plant, Houghton, MIMedium Secondary Plant.
City of Natoma Wastewater Treatment Facility, Natoma, KSMost Improved Plant.
Gerald Grant, P.E., Fort Scott Community College, Fort Scott, KSTrainer for the Most Improved Plant.
Category: Exemplary Biosolids Management Awards
First Place:
Encina Wastewater Authority, Biosolids Management Program, Carlsbad, CALarge Operating Projects.
City of Olathe Compost Facility, Olathe, KSSmall Operating Projects.
Florida Water Environment Association and the Florida Dept. of Environmental Protection Agency/Central District, Orlando, FLPublic Acceptance Activities.
Second Place:
Rancho Las Virgenes Composting Facility, Community Compost Program, Calabasas, CAPublic Acceptance Activities.
Category: Pretreatment Program Awards
First Place:
City of Corvallis Pretreatment Program, Corvallis, OR0-5 Significant Industrial Users (SIUs).
Riverside Regional Water Quality Control Plant, Environmental Compliance Section, City of Riverside, CA6-20 SIUs.
City of Fresno Industrial Pretreatment Program, Fresno, CAGreater Than 21 SIUs.
Second Place:
City of San Leandro, San Leandro, CA6-20 SIUs.
Category: Storm Water Management Awards
First Place:
Santa Clara Valley Urban Runoff Pollution Prevention Program, San Jose, CAMunicipal Program.
Category: Combined Sewer Overflow Control Awards
First Place:
Auburn Sewerage District, Auburn, MEMunicipal Program.
Second Place:
City of Little Falls Wastewater Treatment Plant, Little Falls NYMunicipal Program.
Start Signature
Start Printed Page 67579

Dated: November 16, 2006.

James A. Hanlon,

Director, Office of Wastewater Management.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. E6-19750 Filed 11-21-06; 8:45 am]