Skip to Content


Reorganization of Foreign-Trade Zone 176 Under Alternative Site Framework, Rockford, IL

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble

Pursuant to its authority under the Foreign-Trade Zones Act of June 18, 1934, as amended (19 U.S.C. 81a-81u), the Foreign-Trade Zones Board (the Board) adopts the following Order:

Whereas, the Board adopted the alternative site framework (ASF) in December 2008 (74 FR 1170, 01/12/09; correction 74 FR 3987, 01/22/09) as an option for the establishment or reorganization of general-purpose zones;

Whereas, the Greater Rockford Airport Authority, grantee of Foreign-Trade Zone 176, submitted an application to the Board (FTZ Docket 1-2010, filed 1/6/2010) for authority to reorganize under the ASF with a service area that includes Winnebago, Stephenson, Ogle, Lee, DeKalb, and Boone Counties, and portions of Bureau, McHenry and Kane Counties, Illinois, within and adjacent to the Rockford Customs and Border Protection port of entry, and FTZ 176's existing sites would be categorized as magnet sites;

Whereas, notice inviting public comment was given in the Federal Register (75 FR 2487, 1/15/10) and the application has been processed pursuant to the FTZ Act and the Board's regulations; and,

Whereas, the Board adopts the findings and recommendations of the examiner's report, and finds that the requirements of the FTZ Act and Board's regulations are satisfied, and that the proposal is in the public interest;

Now, therefore, the Board hereby orders:

The application to reorganize FTZ 176 under the alternative site framework is approved, subject to the FTZ Act and the Board's regulations, including Section 400.28, to the Board's standard 2,000-acre activation limit for the overall general-purpose zone project, and to a five-year ASF sunset provision Start Printed Page 52512for magnet sites that would terminate authority for Sites 3, 4 and 6 through 12 if not activated by August 31, 2015.

Start Signature

Signed at Washington, DC, this 19th day of August 2010.

Ronald K. Lorentzen,

Deputy Assistant Secretary for Import Administration, Alternate Chairman, Foreign-Trade Zones Board.

End Signature End Preamble

[FR Doc. 2010-21291 Filed 8-25-10; 8:45 am]