Skip to Content


National Commission on the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Offshore Drilling

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Document Statistics
Document page views are updated periodically throughout the day and are cumulative counts for this document including its time on Public Inspection. Counts are subject to sampling, reprocessing and revision (up or down) throughout the day.
Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Department of Energy, Office of Fossil Energy.


Notice of open meeting.


This notice announces an open meeting of the National Commission on the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Offshore Drilling (the Commission). The Commission was organized pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act (Pub. L. 92-463, 86 Stat. 770) (the Act). The Act requires that agencies publish these notices in the Federal Register. The Charter of the Commission can be found at:


November 8, 2010, 9 a.m.-5 p.m., and November 9, 2010, 9 a.m.-5:30 p.m.


Grand Hyatt Washington, 1000 H St., NW., Washington, DC 20001; telephone number: 1-202-582-1234.

Start Further Info


Christopher A. Smith, Designated Federal Officer, Mail Stop: FE-30, U.S. Department of Energy, 1000 Independence Avenue, SW., Washington, DC 20585; telephone (202) 586-0716 or facsimile (202) 586-6221; e-mail:

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


Background: The President directed that the Commission be established to examine the relevant facts and circumstances concerning the root cause of the BP Deepwater Horizon explosion, fire, and oil spill and to develop options to guard against, and mitigate the impact of, any oil spills associated with offshore drilling in the future.

The Commission is composed of seven members appointed by the President to serve as special Government employees. The members were selected because of their extensive scientific, legal, engineering, and environmental expertise, and their knowledge of issues pertaining to the oil and gas industry. Information on the Commission can be found at its Web site:

Purpose of the Meeting: Inform the Commission about the progress of the Chief Counsel's investigation into the Macondo well blowout. The Commission will hear a presentation from the Chief Counsel and statements from industry and academic experts. The Commission will also have the opportunity to hear from representatives of companies involved in the events leading to the blowout.

Tentative Agenda: The meeting is expected to start on November 8, 2010 at 9 a.m. Presentations to the Commission are expected to begin shortly thereafter and will conclude at approximately 5 p.m. The meeting will continue on November 9, 2010 at 9 a.m. with presentations to the Commission. Public comments can be made on November 9, 2010 from 5 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. The final agenda will be available at the Commission's Web site:

Public Participation: The meeting is open to the public, with capacity and seats available on a first-come, first-serve basis. The Designated Federal Officer is empowered to conduct the meeting in a fashion that will facilitate the orderly conduct of business.

Approximately one-half hour will be reserved for public comments on the second day of the hearing. Time allotted per speaker will be three minutes. Opportunity for public comment will be available on November 9, 2010 tentatively from 5 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. Registration for those wishing to request an opportunity to speak opens onsite on November 9, 2010 at 8 a.m. Speakers will register to speak on a first-come, first-serve basis. Members of the public wishing to provide oral comments are encouraged to provide a written copy of their comments for collection at the time of onsite registration.

Those not able to attend the meeting may view the meeting live on the Commission Web site: Those individuals who are not able to attend the meeting, or who are not able to provide oral comments during the meeting, are invited to send a written statement to Christopher A. Smith, Mail Stop FE-30, U.S. Department of Energy, 1000 Independence Ave., SW., Washington, DC 20585, or e-mail:

Minutes: The minutes of the meeting will be available at the Commission's Web site: or by contacting Mr. Smith. He may be reached at the postal or e-mail addresses above.

Accommodation for the hearing impaired: A sign language interpreter will be onsite for the duration of the meeting.

Start Signature
Start Printed Page 65310

Issued in Washington DC, on October 19, 2010.

Rachel Samuel,

Deputy Committee Management Officer.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 2010-26710 Filed 10-21-10; 8:45 am]