Skip to Content


Notice of a Change in Status of the Payable Periods in the Emergency Unemployment Compensation 2008 (EUC08) Program for Alaska

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.




This notice announces a change in status of the payable periods in the Emergency Unemployment Compensation 2008 (EUC08) program for Alaska.

Public law 112-78 extended provisions in Public Law 111-92 which amended prior laws to create a Third and Fourth Tier of benefits within the EUC08 program for qualified unemployed workers claiming benefits in high unemployment states. The Department of Labor produces a trigger notice indicating which states qualify for EUC08 benefits within Tiers Three and Four and provides the beginning and ending dates of payable periods for each qualifying state. The trigger notice covering state eligibility for the EUC08 program can be found at:

The following change has occurred since the publication of the last notice regarding the State's EUC08 status:

  • Alaska's 13-week insured unemployment rate for the week ending January 7, 2012, rose to meet the 6% threshold to trigger “on” to Tier 4 of the EUC08 program. The payable period for Alaska in Tier Four of EUC08 began January 22, 2012. As a result, the current maximum potential entitlement for claimants in Alaska in the EUC08 program will increase from 47 weeks to 53 weeks.

Information for Claimants

The duration of benefits payable in the EUC program, and the terms and conditions under which they are payable, are governed by Public Laws 110-252, 110-449, 111-5, 111-92, 111-118, 111-144, 111-157, 111-205, 111-312, and 112-78, and the operating instructions issued to the states by the U.S. Department of Labor. Persons who believe they may be entitled to additional benefits under the EUC08 program, or who wish to inquire about their rights under the program, should contact their State Workforce Agency.


Scott Gibbons, U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration, Office of Unemployment Insurance, 200 Constitution Avenue NW., Frances Perkins Bldg. Room S-4524, Washington, DC 20210, telephone number (202) 693-3008 (this is not a toll-free number) or by email:

Signed in Washington, DC, this 2nd day of February, 2012.

Jane Oates,

Assistant Secretary, Employment and Training Administration.

[FR Doc. 2012-3253 Filed 2-10-12; 8:45 am]