Skip to Content


Environmental Management Site-Specific Advisory Board, Northern New Mexico

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Enhanced Content

Relevant information about this document from provides additional context. This information is not part of the official Federal Register document.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.


Notice of open meeting.


This notice announces a meeting of the Environmental Management Site-Specific Advisory Board (EM SSAB), Northern New Mexico. The Federal Advisory Committee Act (Pub. L. 92-463, 86 Stat. 770) requires that public notice of this meeting be announced in the Federal Register.


Wednesday, March 28, 2012, 1 p.m.-7 p.m.


Marriott Albuquerque Pyramid North, 5151 San Francisco Road NE., Albuquerque, New Mexico 87109.


Menice Santistevan, Northern New Mexico Citizens' Advisory Board (NNMCAB), 94 Cities of Gold Road, Santa Fe, NM 87506. Phone (505) 995-0393; Fax (505) 989-1752 or Email:


Purpose of the Board: The purpose of the Board is to make recommendations to DOE-EM and site management in the areas of environmental restoration, waste management, and related activities.

Tentative Agenda

1 p.m.—Call To Order by Deputy Designated Federal Officer (DDFO), Ed Worth

Establishment of a Quorum: Roll Call and Excused Absences, Karen Erickson

Welcome and Introductions, Ralph Phelps, Chair

Welcome to Albuquerque, Mayor R.J. Berry (invited)

Approval of Agenda and January 25, 2012, Meeting Minutes

1:30 p.m.—Public Comment Period

1:45 p.m.—Old Business

  • Written Reports
  • Report on Waste Management Symposia, Manuel Pacheco and Joe Tiano
  • Other Items

2 p.m.—New Business

  • Approval of NNMCAB Top Three Issues for Spring Chairs' Meeting, Ralph Phelps
  • Other Items

2:15 p.m.—Update From Los Alamos Site Manager, Kevin Smith

2:45 p.m.—Items From the DDFO

  • Update From DOE
  • Definition of One Contaminant
  • Other Items

3 p.m.—Break

3:15 p.m.—Status of Sandia Laboratory Environmental Restoration Program, Joe Estrada/J. Cochran

3:45 p.m.—Items From Liaison Members

  • DOE, Los Alamos Site Office, George Rael
  • Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL), Michael Graham
  • New Mexico Environment Department, John Kieling
  • Environmental Protection Agency (Region 6), Rich Mayer

4:15 p.m.—Presentation on Effects of the Las Conchas Fire and LANL, Jane De Rosa-Bamman; Operations on Cochiti Lake and the Rio Grande, Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Water Authority

5 p.m.—Dinner Break

6 p.m.—Public Comment Period

6:15 p.m.—Consideration and Action on Draft Recommendation(s) to the DOE, Ralph Phelps

  • Draft Recommendation 2012-01, “Fiscal Year 2013 Budget Request for Los Alamos National Laboratory Environmental Management Work”

6:45 p.m.—Wrap up and Comments From Board Members, Ralph Phelps

7 p.m.—Adjourn, Ed Worth

Public Participation: The EM SSAB, Northern New Mexico, welcomes the attendance of the public at its advisory committee meetings and will make every effort to accommodate persons with physical disabilities or special needs. If you require special accommodations due to a disability, please contact Menice Santistevan at least seven days in advance of the meeting at the telephone number listed above. Written statements may be filed with the Board either before or after the meeting. Individuals who wish to make oral statements pertaining to agenda items should contact Menice Santistevan at the address or telephone number listed above. Requests must be received five days prior to the meeting and reasonable provision will be made to include the presentation in the agenda. The Deputy Designated Federal Officer is empowered to conduct the meeting in a fashion that will facilitate the orderly conduct of business. Individuals wishing to make public comments will be provided a maximum of five minutes to present their comments.

Minutes: Minutes will be available by writing or calling Menice Santistevan at the address or phone number listed above. Minutes and other Board documents are on the Internet at:

Issued at Washington, DC on February 23, 2012.

LaTanya R. Butler,

Acting Deputy Committee Management Officer.

[FR Doc. 2012-4641 Filed 2-27-12; 8:45 am]