Skip to Content

We invite you to try out our new beta eCFR site at We’ve made big changes to make the eCFR easier to use. Be sure to leave feedback using the 'Help' button on the bottom right of each page!


Expansion of Global Entry to Additional Airports

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Document Statistics
Document page views are updated periodically throughout the day and are cumulative counts for this document including its time on Public Inspection. Counts are subject to sampling, reprocessing and revision (up or down) throughout the day.
Enhanced Content

Relevant information about this document from provides additional context. This information is not part of the official Federal Register document.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.


General notice.


U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) has established an international trusted traveler program, referred to as Global Entry, at twenty major U.S. airports. Global Entry allows pre-approved, low-risk participants expedited entry into the United States using Global Entry kiosks located at designated airports. This document announces the expansion of the program to include four additional airports.


Global Entry will be available at all four airport locations on or before September 22, 2012. The exact starting date for each airport location will be announced on the Web site at


Larry Panetta, Office of Field Operations, (202) 344-1253,



Global Entry Program

Global Entry is a voluntary program that allows for the expedited clearance of pre-approved, low-risk travelers arriving in the United States at Global Entry kiosks located at designated airports. The Global Entry final rule, published on February 6, 2012, promulgated the regulation to establish Global Entry as a permanent regulatory program and contains a detailed description of the program, the eligibility criteria, the application and selection process, and the initial airport locations. See 77 FR 5681 and 8 CFR 235.12. Travelers who wish to participate in Global Entry must apply via the CBP Global Entry Web site, or through the Global On-Line Enrollment System (GOES) Web site, Applications must be completed and submitted electronically.

The twenty airports initially chosen for Global Entry were those facilities which typically experience the largest numbers of travelers arriving from outside of the United States. They include:

  • John F. Kennedy International Airport, Jamaica, New York (JFK);
  • The George Bush Intercontinental Airport, Houston, Texas (IAH);
  • The Washington Dulles International Airport, Sterling, Virginia (IAD);
  • Los Angeles International Airport, Los Angeles, California (LAX);
  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, Atlanta, Georgia (ATL);
  • Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago, Illinois (ORD);
  • Miami International Airport, Miami, Florida (MIA);
  • Newark Liberty International Airport, Newark, New Jersey (EWR);
  • San Francisco International Airport, San Francisco, California (SFO);
  • Orlando International Airport, Orlando, Florida (MCO);
  • Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport, Romulus, Michigan (DTW);
  • Dallas Fort Worth International Airport, Dallas, Texas (DFW);
  • Honolulu International Airport, Honolulu, Hawaii (HNL);
  • Boston—Logan International Airport, Boston, Massachusetts (BOS);
  • Las Vegas—McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas, Nevada (LAS);
  • Sanford—Orlando International Airport, Sanford, Florida (SSB);
  • Seattle—Tacoma International Airport-SEATAC, Seattle, Washington (STT);
  • Philadelphia International Airport, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (PHL);
  • San Juan—Luis Munos Marin International Airport, San Juan, Puerto Rico (SAJ);
  • Ft. Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport, Fort Lauderdale, Florida (FLL), including the General Aviation Facility private aircraft terminal.

The preamble to the final rule states that when CBP is ready to expand Global Entry to additional airports and has selected the airports, CBP will publish an announcement in the Federal Register and in a posting on the Web site,

Expansion of Global Entry Program to Additional Airports

CBP is expanding the Global Entry program to include the following four additional airports: St. Paul International Airport, Minneapolis, Minnesota (MSP); Charlotte Douglas International Airport, Charlotte, North Carolina (CLT); Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, Phoenix, Arizona (PHX); and Denver International Airport, Denver, Colorado (DEN). Global Entry will become operational at all four airports on or before September 22, 2012. The exact starting dates of the expansion of Global Entry to each airport location will be announced on the Web site at

Dated: March 21, 2012.

Kevin K. McAleenan,

Acting Assistant Commissioner, Office of Field Operations.

[FR Doc. 2012-7227 Filed 3-23-12; 8:45 am]