Skip to Content


Foreign-Trade Zone 26-Atlanta, GA; Application for Reorganization (Expansion of Service Area) Under the Alternative Site Framework

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Document Statistics
Document page views are updated periodically throughout the day and are cumulative counts for this document including its time on Public Inspection. Counts are subject to sampling, reprocessing and revision (up or down) throughout the day.
Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

An application has been submitted to the Foreign-Trade Zones (FTZ) Board (the Board) by the Georgia Foreign-Trade Zone, Inc., grantee of FTZ 26, requesting authority to expand its service area under the alternative site framework (ASF) adopted by the Board (15 CFR 400.2(c)). The ASF is an option for grantees for the establishment or reorganization of general-purpose zones and can permit significantly greater flexibility in the designation of new “usage-driven” FTZ sites for operators/users located within a grantee's “service area” in the context of the Board's standard 2,000-acre activation limit for a general-purpose zone project. The application was submitted pursuant to the Foreign-Trade Zones Act, as amended (19 U.S.C. 81a-81u), and the regulations of the Board (15 CFR part 400). It was formally filed on July 20, 2012.

FTZ 26 was approved by the Board on January 17, 1977 (Board Order 115, 42 FR 4186, 01/24/77) and reorganized under the ASF on November 26, 2010 (Board Order 1725, 75 FR 76953, 12/10/10).

The zone project currently has a service area that includes the Georgia counties of Haralson, Paulding, Polk, Floyd, Bartow, Chattooga, Gordon, Pickens, Gilmer, Walker, Whitfield, Murray, Forsyth, Dawson, Hall, Banks, Lumpkin, Fulton, DeKalb, Gwinnett, Cobb, Douglas, Clayton, Henry, Fayette, Rockdale, Cherokee, Carroll, Coweta, Heard, Troup, Meriwether, Pike, Spalding, Butts, Lamar, Upson, Jasper, Newton, Morgan, Greene, Walton, Oconee, Clarke, Barrow, Jackson, Bibb, Crawford, Jones, Monroe, Putnam, Richmond, Harris, Talbot, and Muscogee in their entirety and portions of White, Franklin, Peach, Houston, and Twiggs Counties, in and adjacent to the Atlanta Customs and Border Protection port of entry with the exception of Walker, Whitfield, and Murray Counties which are adjacent to the Chattanooga Customs and Border Protection port of entry, and Richmond County which is adjacent to the Columbia Customs and Border Protection port of entry. The applicant is requesting authority to expand the service area of the zone to include a portion of Columbia County, Georgia, as described in the application. If approved, the grantee would be able to serve sites throughout the expanded service area based on companies' needs for FTZ designation. The proposed expanded service area is adjacent to the Columbia, South Carolina Customs and Border Protection port of entry.

In accordance with the Board's regulations, Kathleen Boyce of the FTZ Staff is designated examiner to evaluate and analyze the facts and information presented in the application and case record and to report findings and recommendations to the Board.

Public comment is invited from interested parties. Submissions (original and 3 copies) shall be addressed to the Board's Executive Secretary at the address below. The closing period for their receipt is September 24, 2012. Rebuttal comments in response to material submitted during the foregoing period may be submitted during the subsequent 15-day period to October 9, 2012.

A copy of the application will be available for public inspection at the Office of the Executive Secretary, Foreign-Trade Zones Board, Room 2111, U.S. Department of Commerce, 1401 Constitution Avenue NW., Washington, DC 20230-0002, and in the “Reading Room” section of the Board's Web site, which is accessible via For further information, contact Kathleen Boyce at or (202) 482-1346.

Dated: July 20, 2012.

Andrew McGilvray,

Executive Secretary.

[FR Doc. 2012-18282 Filed 7-25-12; 8:45 am]