Skip to Content


Electricity Advisory Committee

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability, Department of Energy.


Notice of open meeting.


This notice announces a meeting of the Electricity Advisory Committee (EAC). The Federal Advisory Committee Act (Pub. L. 92-463, 86 Stat. 770) requires that public notice of these meetings be announced in the Federal Register.


Wednesday, March 12, 2014: 12:00 p.m.-5:45 p.m. (EST), Thursday, March 13, 2014; 8:00 a.m.-2:30 p.m. (EST).

Start Printed Page 10514


National Rural Electric Cooperative Association, 4301 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22203.

Start Further Info


Matthew Rosenbaum, Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability, U.S. Department of Energy, Forrestal Building, Room 8G-017, 1000 Independence Avenue SW., Washington, DC 20585; Telephone: (202) 586-1060 or Email:

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


Purpose of the Committee: The Electricity Advisory Committee (EAC) was re-established in July 2010, in accordance with the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), as amended, 5 U.S.C., App. 2, to provide advice to the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) in implementing the Energy Policy Act of 2005, executing the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007, and modernizing the nation's electricity delivery infrastructure. The EAC is composed of individuals of diverse backgrounds selected for their technical expertise and experience, established records of distinguished professional service, and their knowledge of issues that pertain to electricity.

Tentative Agenda: The meeting of the EAC is expected to include discussion of the activities of the Energy Storage Technologies Subcommittee, the Smart Grid Subcommittee, and the Transmission Subcommittee, as well as discussions of distributed resource integration and lessons for grid resilience.

Tentative Agenda: March 12, 2014

12:00 p.m.-1:00 p.m. EAC Leadership Committee Meeting

12:00 p.m.-1:00 p.m. Registration and Public Sign-up for comments on Day 2

1:00 p.m.-1:10 p.m. Welcome and Developments since the June 2013 Meeting

1:10 p.m.-1:30 p.m. Update on DOE's Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability (OE) 2014 Programs and Initiatives

1:30 p.m.-2:15 p.m. Keynote: Melanie Kenderdine, Energy Counselor to the Secretary of Energy

2:15 p.m.-2:30 p.m. Break

2:30 p.m.-3:50 p.m. Panel—Distributed Resource Integration

3:50 p.m.-4:10 p.m. EAC Member Discussion—Distributed Resource Integration Issues

4:10 p.m.-4:20 p.m. Break

4:20 p.m.-5:10 p.m. EAC Smart Grid Subcommittee Paper and Plans

5:10 p.m.-5:30 p.m. EAC Member Discussion of Smart Grid Subcommittee Plans

5:30 p.m.-5:45 p.m. Wrap-up and Adjourn Day One of EAC Meeting

Tentative Agenda: March 13, 2014

8:00 a.m.-9:20 a.m. Panel—Post-Sandy: Lessons for Grid Resilience

9:20 a.m.-9:40 a.m. EAC Discussion of Storm Panel Topics

9:40 a.m.-10:30 a.m. EAC Transmission Subcommittee Activities and Plan

10:30 a.m.-10:50 a.m. EAC Member Discussion of Transmission Subcommittee Plans

10:50 a.m.-11:10 a.m. Break

11:10 a.m.-11:30 a.m. DOE Energy Storage Program Update

11:30 a.m.-12:20 p.m. EAC Storage Subcommittee Activities and Plan

12:20 p.m.-1:40 p.m. Lunch on your own (Local Restaurants)

1:40 p.m.-2:00 p.m. EAC Discussion and Decision on Storage Subcommittee Plans and Recommendations

2:00 p.m.-2:15 p.m. Public Comments (Must register to comment at time of check-in)

2:15 p.m.-2:30 p.m. Wrap Up and Adjourn EAC Meeting

The meeting agenda may change to accommodate EAC business. For EAC agenda updates, see the EAC Web site at:​oe/​services/​electricity-advisory-committee-eac.

Public Participation: The EAC welcomes the attendance of the public at its meetings. Individuals who wish to offer public comments at the EAC meeting may do so on Thursday, March 13, 2014, but must register at the registration table in advance. Approximately 15 minutes will be reserved for public comments. Time allotted per speaker will depend on the number who wish to speak but is not expected to exceed three minutes. Anyone who is not able to attend the meeting, or for whom the allotted public comments time is insufficient to address pertinent issues with the EAC, is invited to send a written statement to Mr. Matthew Rosenbaum.

You may submit comments, identified by “Electricity Advisory Committee Open Meeting”, by any of the following methods:

The following electronic file formats are acceptable: Microsoft Word (.doc), Corel Word Perfect (.wpd), Adobe Acrobat (.pdf), Rich Text Format (.rtf), plain text (.txt), Microsoft Excel (.xls), and Microsoft PowerPoint (.ppt). If you submit information that you believe to be exempt by law from public disclosure, you must submit one complete copy, as well as one copy from which the information claimed to be exempt by law from public disclosure has been deleted. You must also explain the reasons why you believe the deleted information is exempt from disclosure.

DOE is responsible for the final determination concerning disclosure or nondisclosure of the information and for treating it in accordance with the DOE's Freedom of Information regulations (10 CFR 1004.11).


Delivery of the U.S. Postal Service mail to DOE may be delayed by several weeks due to security screening. DOE, therefore, encourages those wishing to comment to submit comments electronically by email. If comments are submitted by regular mail, the Department requests that they be accompanied by a CD or diskette containing electronic files of the submission.

Minutes: The minutes of the EAC meeting will be posted on the EAC Web page at​oe/​services/​electricity-advisory-committee-eac. They can also be obtained by contacting Mr. Matthew Rosenbaum at the address above.

Start Signature

Issued in Washington, DC, on February 19, 2014.

LaTanya R. Butler,

Deputy Committee Management Officer.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 2014-04071 Filed 2-24-14; 8:45 am]