Skip to Content


Qualification of Drivers; Exemption Applications; Diabetes

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Document Statistics
Document page views are updated periodically throughout the day and are cumulative counts for this document including its time on Public Inspection. Counts are subject to sampling, reprocessing and revision (up or down) throughout the day.
Enhanced Content

Relevant information about this document from provides additional context. This information is not part of the official Federal Register document.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), DOT.


Notice of denials.


FMCSA announces its denial of 74 applications from individuals who requested an exemption from the Federal diabetes standard applicable to interstate truck and bus drivers and the reasons for the denials. FMCSA has statutory authority to exempt individuals from the diabetes requirement if the exemptions granted will not compromise safety. The Agency has concluded that granting these exemptions does not provide a level of safety that will be equivalent to, or Start Printed Page 73467greater than, the level of safety maintained without the exemptions for these commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers.

Start Further Info


Ms. Christine A. Hydock, Chief, Medical Programs Division, (202) 366-4001,, FMCSA, Department of Transportation, 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE., Room W64-113, Washington, DC 20590-0001. Office hours are 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., e.t., Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays.

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information



Under 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315, FMCSA may grant an exemption from the Federal diabetes standard for a renewable 2-year period if it finds “such an exemption would likely achieve a level of safety that is equivalent to, or greater than, the level that would be achieved absent such an exemption.” The procedures for requesting an exemption are set forth in 49 CFR part 381.

Accordingly, FMCSA evaluated 74 individual exemption requests on their merits and made a determination that these applicants do not satisfy the criteria eligibility or meet the terms and conditions of the Federal exemption program. Each applicant has, prior to this notice, received a letter of final disposition on the exemption request. Those decision letters fully outlined the basis for the denial and constitute final Agency action. The list published in this notice summarizes the Agency's recent denials as required under 49 U.S.C. 31315(b)(4) by periodically publishing names and reasons for denial.

The following 10 applicants met the diabetes requirements of 49 CFR 391.41(b)(3) and do not need an exemption:

Byron D. Benham (IL)

Donald D. Dixon, Sr. (IN)

Reggie L. Knight (NC)

Daniel Meza (TX)

Robert L. Middleton (NC)

Augustino M. Pang (NY)

Dana W. Rhoades (WA)

Gary W. Shreve (MI)

Robert B. Ulrich, Jr. (PA)

Kenneth D. Williams (GA)

The following 34 applicants were not operating CMVs in interstate commerce:

William F. Batz (NY)

Gregory A. Carroll (MD)

Fred J. Conti (PA)

Francis D.P. Desouza (PA)

Cory J. Dey (PA)

John R. Ebell (OR)

Harold K. Goebel (TX)

Evon L. Gray (PA)

Joseph L. Gutierrez (IL)

Joseph A. Haase (WI)

Jeffrey L. Hays (ID)

Pieter M. Hoeckman (CO)

Mary A. Jefferson (VA)

Randy W. Jones (NC)

Dennis V. Klima (KS)

Chi H. Ku (WI)

Vernard E. Lackey (OR)

Cory K. Malloy (NY)

David Marseille (NY)

Colton R. Martin (TX)

Gerasim J. Merculief (AK)

Luong G. Pham (OR)

Alphonso Rose (NH)

Paul Ross (GA)

Rafael A. Santana (MA)

Cole J. Schoennema (CA)

William C. Sexton, Jr. (VA)

Nicole B. Sherman (CT)

Kim D. Steinbeck (MA)

John C. Story (MT)

Randy L. Toy (PA)

Hartman P. Trabeaux (LA)

Tracy W. Williams (MD)

Mark E. Wilson (VA)

The following applicant, Raphael N. Haynes (NY), had renal insufficiency.

The following 8 applicants have had more than one hypoglycemic episode requiring hospitalization or the assistance of others, or has had one such episode but has not had one year of stability following the episode:

Glen A. Clark (DE)

Dana L. Guest (TN)

Jason P. Kunkle (PA)

Giasi A. Leite (GA)

David V. Marreel (NE)

Casey M. O'Reilly (PA)

Daniel A. Sorem (MN)

Michael D. Underwood (AL)

The following 6 applicants had other medical conditions making the applicant otherwise unqualified under the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations:

Gordon R. Jockisch (IL)

Gerald P. Malone (IA)

Michael J. Perfect (WA)

Van A. Tenny (KS)

Jay M. Westerfer (PA)

Timothy A. Wright (OH)

The following applicant, Kenneth W. Wilson (BC), currently resides in Canada. He is not eligible because the Federal exemption is for drivers operating only in the United States.

The following 5 applicants did not meet the minimum age criteria outlined in 49 CFR 391.41(b)(1) which states that an individual must be at least 21 years old to operate a CMV in interstate commerce:

James C. Cox (TX)

Joseph M. Hall (NY)

Logan J. Kocher (PA)

Wilbur Robinson (SC)

Makhial J. Webb (CA)

The following 9 applicants were exempt from the diabetes standard:

David B. Anderson (VA)

Carlos J. Carames (NJ)

Ronald L. Cogan (OH)

Douglas L. Dudley (VA)

Michael Halsey (IN)

Frederick R. Haynes (MI)

Danny R. Knox (KY)

John M. Reichenberg (NJ)

Julia M. Seger (MD)

Start Signature

Issued on: October 14, 2016.

Larry W. Minor,

Associate Administrator for Policy.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 2016-25766 Filed 10-24-16; 8:45 am]