Skip to Content


Reorganization of Foreign-Trade Zone 20 (Expansion of Service Area) Under Alternative Site Framework; Norfolk, Virginia

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble

Pursuant to its authority under the Foreign-Trade Zones Act of June 18, 1934, as amended (19 U.S.C. 81a-81u), the Foreign-Trade Zones Board (the Board) adopts the following Order:

Whereas, the Board adopted the alternative site framework (ASF) (15 CFR Sec. 400.2(c)) as an option for the establishment or reorganization of zones;

Whereas, the Virginia Port Authority, grantee of Foreign-Trade Zone 20, submitted an application to the Board (FTZ Docket B-31-2016, docketed May 9, 2016) for authority to expand the service area of the zone to include Elizabeth City, North Carolina and the Counties of Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Gates, Hertford, Pasquotank and Perquimans, North Carolina as described in the application, adjacent to the Norfolk-Newport News Customs and Border Protection port of entry;

Whereas, notice inviting public comment was given in the Federal Start Printed Page 88214Register (81 FR 29838, May 13, 2016) and the application has been processed pursuant to the FTZ Act and the Board's regulations; and,

Whereas, the Board adopts the findings and recommendations of the examiner's report, and finds that the requirements of the FTZ Act and the Board's regulations are satisfied;

Now, therefore, the Board hereby orders:

The application to reorganize FTZ 20 to expand the service area under the ASF is approved, subject to the FTZ Act and the Board's regulations, including Section 400.13, and to the Board's standard 2,000-acre activation limit for the zone.

Start Signature

Dated: November 29, 2016.

Paul Piquado,

Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Enforcement and Compliance, Alternate Chairman, Foreign-Trade Zones Board.


Andrew McGilvray,

Executive Secretary.

End Signature End Preamble

[FR Doc. 2016-29350 Filed 12-6-16; 8:45 am]