Skip to Content


National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Document Statistics
Document page views are updated periodically throughout the day and are cumulative counts for this document including its time on Public Inspection. Counts are subject to sampling, reprocessing and revision (up or down) throughout the day.
Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity, U.S. Department of Education.


Notice of membership.


This notice lists the members of the National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI). This notice is required under Section 114(e)(1) of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended (HEA).

End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


NACIQI's Statutory Authority and Functions

NACIQI is established under Section 114 of the HEA, and is composed of 18 members appointed—

(A) On the basis of the individuals' experience, integrity, impartiality, and good judgment;

(B) From among individuals who are representatives of, or knowledgeable concerning, education and training beyond secondary education, representing all sectors and types of institutions of higher education; and,

(C) On the basis of the individuals' technical qualifications, professional standing, and demonstrated knowledge in the fields of accreditation and administration of higher education.

NACIQI meets at least twice a year and advises the Secretary of Education with respect to:

  • The establishment and enforcement of the standards of accrediting agencies or associations under subpart 2 of part G of Title IV of the HEA;Start Printed Page 107
  • The recognition of specific accrediting agencies or associations;
  • The preparation and publication of the list of nationally recognized accrediting agencies and associations;
  • The eligibility and certification process for institutions of higher education under Title IV of the HEA and part C of subchapter I of chapter 34 of Title 42, together with recommendations for improvements in such process;
  • The relationship between (1) accreditation of institutions of higher education and the certification and eligibility of such institutions, and (2) State licensing responsibilities with respect to such institutions; and
  • Any other advisory functions relating to accreditation and institutional eligibility that the Secretary of Education may prescribe by regulation.


U.S. Department of Education, Office of Postsecondary Education, 400 Maryland Ave. SW., Room 6W250, Washington, DC 20202.


Jennifer Hong, Executive Director/Designated Federal Official, NACIQI, U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Ave. SW., Room 6W250, Washington, DC 20202, telephone: (202) 453-7805, or email

What are the terms of office for the committee members?

The term of office of each member is six years. Any member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which the member's predecessor was appointed shall be appointed for the remainder of such term.

Who are the current members of the committee?

The current members of the NACIQI are:

Members Appointed by the Secretary of Education With Terms Expiring September 30, 2019

  • Simon J. Boehme (Student Member), Independent Consultant, San Francisco, California.
  • Roberta L. Derlin, Ph.D., Associate Provost Emeritus, New Mexico State University, Albuquerque, New Mexico.
  • John Etchemendy, Ph.D., Provost, Stanford University, Stanford, California.
  • Susan D. Phillips, Ph.D., Former Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs and Former Vice President for Strategic Partnerships, University at Albany/SUNY, Albany, New York.
  • Frank H. Wu, J.D., Distinguished Professor, University of California Hastings College of Law, San Francisco, California.
  • Federico Zaragoza, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor for Economic and Workforce Development, Alamo Colleges, San Antonio, Texas.

Members Appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives With Terms Expiring September 30, 2020

  • Kathleen Sullivan Alioto, Ed.D., Strategic Advisor, Fundraiser, and Consultant, New York, New York, San Francisco, California, and Boston, Massachusetts.
  • George T. French, Jr., Ph.D., President, Miles College, Fairfield, Alabama.
  • Arthur E. Keiser, Ph.D., Chancellor and C.E.O., Keiser University, Fort Lauderdale, Florida.
  • Arthur J. Rothkopf, J.D., President Emeritus, Lafayette College, Washington, DC.
  • Ralph Wolff, J.D., Independent Policy Consultant, Oakland, California.
  • Vacant.

Members Appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate With Terms Expiring September 30, 2022

  • Jill Derby, Ph.D., Senior Consultant, Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges, Gardnerville, Nevada.
  • Paul J. LeBlanc, Ph.D., President, Southern New Hampshire University, Manchester, New Hampshire.
  • Anne D. Neal, J.D., Senior Fellow, American Council of Trustees and Alumni, Washington, DC.
  • Richard F. O'Donnell, Founder and CEO, Skills Fund, Austin, Texas.
  • Steven Van Ausdle, Ph.D., President Emeritus, Walla Walla Community College, Walla Walla, Washington.
  • Vacant.

Electronic Access to This Document: The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available via the Federal Digital System at​fdsys. At this site you can view this document, as well as all other documents of this Department published in the Federal Register, in text or Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF). To use PDF, you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader, which is available free at the site.

You may also access documents of the Department published in the Federal Register by using the article search feature at: Specifically, through the advanced search feature at this site, you can limit your search to documents published by the Department.

Start Authority

Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1011c.

End Authority Start Signature

John B. King, Jr.,

Secretary of Education.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 2016-31400 Filed 12-30-16; 8:45 am]