Skip to Content


Opportunity for Designation in the Bloomington, Illinois, Area; Request for Comments on the Official Agency Servicing This Area

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration, USDA.




The designation of the official agency listed below will end on March 31, 2017. We are asking persons or governmental agencies interested in providing official services in the areas presently served by this agency to submit an application for designation. In addition, we are asking for comments on the quality of services provided by the following designated agency: Central Illinois Grain Inspection, Inc. (Central Illinois).


Applications and comments must be received by April 21, 2017.


Submit applications and comments concerning this notice using any of the following methods:

  • Applying for Designation on the Internet: Use FGISonline (​default_​home_​FGIS.aspx) and then click on the Delegations/Designations and Export Registrations (DDR) link. You will need to obtain an FGISonline customer number and USDA eAuthentication username and password prior to applying.
  • Submit Comments Using the Internet: Go to ( Instructions for submitting and reading comments are detailed on the site.
  • Mail, Courier or Hand Delivery: Sharon Lathrop, Compliance Officer, USDA, GIPSA, FGIS, QACD, 10383 North Ambassador Drive, Kansas City, MO 64153.
  • Fax: Sharon Lathrop, 816-872-1257.
  • Email:

All applications and comments will be available for public inspection at the office above during regular business hours (7 CFR 1.27(c)).

Start Further Info


Sharon Lathrop, 816-891-0415 or

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


Section 79(f) of the United States Grain Standards Act (USGSA) authorizes the Secretary to designate a qualified applicant to provide official services in a specified area after determining that the applicant is better able than any Start Printed Page 14679other applicant to provide such official services (7 U.S.C. 79(f)). Under section 79(g) of the USGSA, designations of official agencies are effective for no longer than five years, unless terminated by the Secretary, and may be renewed according to the criteria and procedures prescribed in section 79(f) of the USGSA.

Areas Open for Designation

Central Illinois

Pursuant to Section 79(f)(2) of the United States Grain Standards Act, the following geographic area in the State of Illinois is assigned to this official agency.

In Illinois

Bounded on the north by State Route 18 east to U.S. Route 51; U.S. Route 51 south to State Route 17; State Route 17 east to Livingston County; and the Livingston County line east to State Route 47; bounded on the east by State Route 47 south to State Route 116; State Route 116 west to Pontiac, which intersects with a straight line running north and south through Arrowsmith to the southern McLean County line; the southern McLean County line east to the eastern DeWitt County line; the eastern DeWitt County Line; the eastern Macon County line south to Interstate 72; Interstate 72 northeast to the eastern Piatt County line; the eastern Piatt, Moultrie, and Shelby County lines; bounded on the south by the southern Shelby County line; and a straight line running along the southern Montgomery County line west to State Route 16 to a point approximately one mile northeast of Irving; and bounded on the west by a straight line from this point northeast to Stonington on State Route 48; a straight line from Stonington northwest to Elkhart on Interstate 55; a straight line from Elkhart northeast to the west side of Beason on State Route 10; State Route 10 west to the Logan County line; the western Logan County line; the southern Tazewell County line; the western Tazewell County line; the western Peoria County line north to Interstate 74; Interstate 74 southeast to State Route 116; State Route 116 north to State Route 26; and State Route 26 north to State Route 18.

The following grain elevators are not part of this geographic area assignment and are assigned to: Champaign-Danville Grain Inspection Departments, Inc.: East Lincoln Farmers Grain Co., Lincoln, Logan County, Illinois; Okaw Cooperative, Cadwell, Moultrie County; ADM (3 elevators), Farmer City, Dewitt County; and Topflight Grain Company, Monticello, Piatt County, Illinois.

Opportunity for Designation

Interested persons or governmental agencies may apply for designation to provide official services in the geographic areas specified above under the provisions of section 79(f) of the USGSA and 7 CFR 800.196. Designation in the specified geographic areas in Illinois is for the period beginning April 1, 2017, to March 31, 2022. To apply for designation or to request more information, contact Sharon Lathrop at the address listed above.

Request for Comments

We are publishing this notice to provide interested persons the opportunity to comment on the quality of services provided by the Central Illinois official agency. In the designation process, we are particularly interested in receiving comments citing reasons and pertinent data supporting or objecting to the designation of the applicant. Submit all comments to Sharon Lathrop at the above address or at

We consider applications, comments, and other available information when determining which applicants will be designated.

Start Authority

Authority: 7 U.S.C. 71-87k.

End Authority Start Signature

Randall D. Jones,

Acting Administrator, Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration.

End Signature End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 2017-05619 Filed 3-21-17; 8:45 am]