Skip to Content


Final Flood Hazard Determinations

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Enhanced Content

Relevant information about this document from provides additional context. This information is not part of the official Federal Register document.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Federal Emergency Management Agency, DHS.


Final notice.


Flood hazard determinations, which may include additions or modifications of Base Flood Elevations (BFEs), base flood depths, Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA) boundaries or zone designations, or regulatory floodways on the Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRMs) and where applicable, in the supporting Flood Insurance Study (FIS) reports have been made final for the communities listed in the table below.

The FIRM and FIS report are the basis of the floodplain management measures that a community is required either to adopt or to show evidence of having in effect in order to qualify or remain qualified for participation in the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA's) National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). In addition, the FIRM and FIS report are used by insurance agents and others to calculate appropriate flood insurance premium rates for buildings and the contents of those buildings.


The effective date of August 15, 2017 which has been established for the FIRM and, where applicable, the supporting FIS report showing the new or modified flood hazard information for each community.


The FIRM, and if applicable, the FIS report containing the final flood hazard information for each community is available for inspection at the respective Community Map Repository address listed in the tables below and will be available online through the FEMA Map Service Center at by the effective date indicated above.

Start Further Info


Rick Sacbibit, Chief, Engineering Services Branch, Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration, FEMA, 400 C Street SW., Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646-7659, or (email); or visit the FEMA Map Information eXchange (FMIX) online at​fhm/​fmx_​main.html.

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) makes the final determinations listed below for the new or modified flood hazard information for each community listed. Notification of these changes has been published in newspapers of local circulation and 90 days have elapsed since that publication. The Deputy Associate Administrator for Insurance and Mitigation has resolved any appeals resulting from this notification.

This final notice is issued in accordance with section 110 of the Flood Disaster Protection Act of 1973, 42 U.S.C. 4104, and 44 CFR part 67. FEMA has developed criteria for floodplain management in floodprone areas in accordance with 44 CFR part 60.

Interested lessees and owners of real property are encouraged to review the new or revised FIRM and FIS report available at the address cited below for each community or online through the FEMA Map Service Center at

The flood hazard determinations are made final in the watersheds and/or communities listed in the table below.

(Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance No. 97.022, “Flood Insurance.”)

Start Signature

Dated: May 2, 2017.

Roy E. Wright,

Deputy Associate Administrator for Insurance and Mitigation, Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency.

End Signature
CommunityCommunity map repository address
Washington County, Maryland and Incorporated Areas
Docket No.: FEMA-B-1523
City of HagerstownCity Hall, 1 East Franklin Street, Hagerstown, MD 21740.
Town of BoonsboroTown Hall, 21 North Main Street, Boonsboro, MD 21713.
Town of Clear SpringTown Hall, 146 Cumberland Street, Clear Spring, MD 21722.
Town of FunkstownTown Hall, 30 East Baltimore Street, Funkstown, MD 21734.
Town of HancockTown Hall, 126 West High Street, Hancock, MD 21750.
Town of KeedysvilleTown Hall, 19 South Main Street, Keedysville, MD 21756.
Town of SharpsburgTown Hall, 106 East Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782.
Town of SmithsburgTown Hall, 21 West Water Street, Smithsburg, MD 21783.
Start Printed Page 23047
Town of WilliamsportTown Hall, 2 North Conococheague Street, Williamsport, MD 21795.
Unincorporated Areas of Washington CountyWashington County Administrative Annex, 80 West Baltimore Street, Hagerstown, MD 21740.
Jim Wells County, Texas and Incorporated Areas
Docket No.: FEMA-B-1603
City of AliceCity Hall, 500 East Main Street, Alice, TX 78332.
City of PremontCity Hall, 200 Southwest 1st Street, Premont, TX 78375.
City of San DiegoCity Hall, 404 South Mier Street, San Diego, TX 78384.
Unincorporated Areas of Jim Wells CountyJim Wells County Courthouse, 200 North Almond Street, Alice, TX 78332.
End Supplemental Information

[FR Doc. 2017-10169 Filed 5-18-17; 8:45 am]