Skip to Content

We invite you to try out our new beta eCFR site at We’ve made big changes to make the eCFR easier to use. Be sure to leave feedback using the 'Feedback' button on the bottom right of each page!


Modifications to the Disability Determination Procedures; End of the Single Decisionmaker Test and Extension of the Prototype Test

Document Details

Information about this document as published in the Federal Register.

Document Statistics
Document page views are updated periodically throughout the day and are cumulative counts for this document. Counts are subject to sampling, reprocessing and revision (up or down) throughout the day.
Enhanced Content

Relevant information about this document from provides additional context. This information is not part of the official Federal Register document.

Published Document

This document has been published in the Federal Register. Use the PDF linked in the document sidebar for the official electronic format.

Start Preamble


Social Security Administration.




We are announcing the end of the “single decisionmaker” test, consistent with our notice in the Federal Register in 2016, in which we said that we would end the test by December 28, 2018. This notice also extends the separate “prototype” test until its cessation in June 2020.


This notice is applicable on December 12, 2018.

Start Further Info


William P. Gibson, Office of Legislation and Congressional Affairs, Social Security Administration, 6401 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21235-6401, (410) 966-9039, for information about this notice. For information on eligibility or filing for benefits, call our national toll-free number, 1-800-772-1213 or TTY 1-800-325-0778, or visit our internet site, Social Security Online, at

End Further Info End Preamble Start Supplemental Information


Our current rules authorize us to test, individually or in any combination, certain modifications to the disability determination procedures. 20 CFR 404.906 and 416.1406. We conducted several tests under the authority of these rules. In the “single decisionmaker” test, a disability examiner may make the initial disability determination in most cases without obtaining the signature of a medical or psychological consultant. Under section 832 of the Bipartisan Budget Act of 2015 (BBA),[1] we are required to end the single decisionmaker test. On August 25, 2016, we announced that we would conclude use of the single decisionmaker test by December 28, 2018. 81 FR 58544.

We ended the single decisionmaker test on October 1, 2018, in the 19 States and the territory of Guam that used this test. There were nine States and the territory of Guam that used single decisionmaker as a stand-alone test. The remaining 10 States used single decisionmaker as part of a separate test that we refer to as the “disability prototype.” 64 FR 47218.

One feature of the prototype test eliminates the reconsideration level of our administrative review process. We are continuing to make decisions in these 10 States by maintaining the elimination of the reconsideration level, but as noted above, as of October 1, 2018, consistent with section 832 of the BBA, we have been making determinations by using medical consultants in those States with the prototype tests.

We will begin phasing out the prototype test in January 2019 in the following five States: New Hampshire; New York; Louisiana; Colorado; and in the part of California [2] where the prototype test is currently being conducted. This means that for the residents in these locations who apply for Social Security Disability Insurance Benefits or Supplemental Security Income, or both, and who receive an initial denial determination on or after January 1, 2019, the first step of the appeals process will be to request a reconsideration of that determination. If we deny an individual at the reconsideration step, they may then seek further review of their claim by requesting a hearing before an administrative law judge.

We will eliminate the prototype test in the remaining five States (Pennsylvania; Alabama; Michigan; Missouri; and Alaska) by June 26, 2020, at which time the test will end. With the end of the prototype test, we will return to a national, unified disability process that affords all disability claimants the same appeal rights in all States.

Start Signature

Nancy A. Berryhill,

Acting Commissioner of Social Security.

End Signature End Supplemental Information


1.  Public Law 114-74, 129 Stat. 584, 613.

Back to Citation

2.  California only includes the Los Angeles North and Los Angeles West branches.

Back to Citation

[FR Doc. 2018-26803 Filed 12-11-18; 8:45 am]